Is It Really So Hard To Meditate? - EcoTrain Question Of The Week

in ecoTrain2 years ago

People seem to have certain ideas, about what meditation actually is. Most, seem to think that the only way to meditate, is to sit cross legged, empty your mind, focus on your breathing and surrender to the silence. It's funny, how we can get stuck on these ideas and then when we can't achieve them, we deem ourselves as failures.


20180212_195909_Film9.jpg

Perhaps, this is why some people believe that it is hard to meditate. So they don't even try, but the fact is, most of us do it without even realizing it sometimes.

How is that possible, you may ask. Well think about something that you love to do. Something that you can really immerse yourself in, that you feel like you get lost in that moment. Perhaps it's playing music or dancing. Maybe you love to cook or paint. Then there are those of us, that love to get into the garden and get our hands in the soil.

They are many other examples, but these are the ones that come to me now. So what is yours?

I have a few that I enjoy. Dancing is one of them. When I dance, I give myself over to the beat, I forget everything and just focus on the music that I hear and then, I become one with it. My limbs, an extension of the sounds I hear.


43719069_324051698173293_5856563176568520704_n.jpg

When I am in the garden, when my hands are in the soil and I am focused on the task at hand, I can so easily empty my mind and tune into the sounds around me, connecting fully with my environment.

Is this not what it means to meditate, to clear your mind and bring more awareness into your life. To enter a state of balance and oneness! There are many ways to achieve this, some that you do daily, almost like rituals. Even if it is just for a few minutes.

So why is it so hard to meditate?

Well personally, I think that it's only difficult to meditate, if you are conditioned to believe that it can only be done a certain way. As if one shoe fits all!

No two people are the same and what works for one, may not work for another. Once we take the time to really explore who we are and what we enjoy, then we can discover the things that allows us to reach a meditative state, that is tailored to who we are. Not a textbook entry that has worked so well for others.

I do know that many people can sit quietly and achieve this, but if like me, that is unreachable, then focus more on doing what you love, what allows you to reach that inner calm. We are all so wonderfully different, we only need to embrace that and find what works for each of us.

To break out of the mold and dive into our creative expression! </5>

image.png

image.png


image.png



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

I agree there are many ways to get into a meditative state but I do appreciate having my quiet spot to go to each morning for my more formal meditation practice - it gets my day off to a good start!
Something you didn't mention was berry picking - I find that when I'm out in the wild picking blueberries it puts me in a meditative state.

I read that you are finally at your new location and getting settled in - it must feel wonderful and it looks like a lovely place to be!

Hey @porters yes berry picking, or foraging of any kind, such a wonderful meditative practice I agree wholeheartedly. Wonderful to hear from you, sending you much love and yay i am super happy to have moved xxxx

Some believe meditation should be focusing the mind on one thing or idea, another way is to clear the mind of all thoughts. I find as you've said, just listening to music and closing my eyes is great, I can not realise I've listened to the entire album sometimes.

Yeah, I get that totally, music transports me and I find it very meditative xxx

can so easily empty my mind and tune into the sounds around me, connecting fully with my environment.
Is this not what it means to meditate, to clear your mind and bring more awareness into your life.

Yes it is that the basic thing about meditation to clear mind and bring more awareness.
You came in from another angel the more reason I enjoy reading your post because of your opinions

 2 years ago  

nice response! yeah true true true.. misconceptions are probably top of my list of reasons why people find it so hard.. we each have to find our own way.. sounds like you found yours! nice to see you on the qotw <3

Thanks Alex, I have really been enjoying the questions xxx

 2 years ago  

yay, happy to hear.. yes me too ive enjoyed answering them.. often i have no idea what i think until write! im happy \so many people appreciate this theme.. x

I am finding myself in a meditative mood every time I am in my garden. There is something about soil in one's hand that is just divine.

Oh... You dance too? What a wonderful feeling when everything of ours is one with a stimulating beat! Nothings beats dancing...

i find myself in a blissful mood when i'm smoking my pipe!

Yes immersed in nature, that really brings me into a meditative state and dancing, oh how I love to dance xxxx

Meditation is an art, and only artists know how to meditate, rests are the explicit explorer.

Do I truthful with my opinion? 😊

Meditation is not an art, as art implies there is a pretence to it.

Meditation is a spiritual experience, where there is no room for "art" nor pretence.

Meditation is many things to many people, for me, it is when I connect with my inner stillness, when everything around me fades away and I am one with the music, the silence, my focus all of the above xxx

Absolutely, there's lots of different ways to meditate to suit!!

Mine of course is moving .. surfing and yoga. For Jamie it's mechanics

Then there are those of us, that love to get into the garden and get our hands in the soil.

Yes!!!!! That too.

Surfing is one thing I have still to try, one day I am sure I will. I have always wanted to just feel at one with the sea/ocean, I can only imagine how that must feel xxxx

It's sooo special. Today I surfed and swam for three hours .m magical . Saltwater on my skin feels like oneness x

These are nice thoughts and well written ideas.
For me, sometimes, I meditate to get an ideas regarding a particular job I intend to create or a whole new thing. Even though it might require for me to be in a silent or quiet mood, I don't necessarily sit, relax, fold my hands or close my eyes to do that. But I do set my eyes at a particular spot in order be focused.

Yes I think it is when we can really direct our focus where it needs it be, where we want it to be,and all else falls away xxxx

Everybody wants that Kundalini moment the first time they try, haha. Nice, concise and neat article, @trucklife-family. (Not sure if anyone has mentioned a certain oddity pertaining to those iconic Christian images to you before... if not, I don't wanna be a spoil sport. But if you're curious I'll elaborate.)

Thanks @canusapatriots xx
are you referring to the first image, I am curious as to what your perception of it is xxxxx

Yes, it was that one. I was watching an Owen Benjamin show when I first heard of this, a couple years back. Apparently, it's a well-known fact among a fraction of the populace that they're related to the reproduction process, shall we say....

We shouldn't be surprised as the symbology revealed in the past few years, used by Jesuits, Masons, and the like, is truly mind boggling. My frined in California says members of the Illuminati were going door to door canvassing and recruting on social media, just a couple weeks ago.