The Need For Human Contact - My Response To The EcoTrain Question of The Week - Are You A 'Hugger Or A Shrugger' In These Pandemic Times?

in ecoTrain4 years ago

image.png

Image Source

Human contact is so important for our well-being we are social creatures and we need to be around others, not all of the time but we do need to have those opportunities to be with other people to sit with other people to embrace other people.
What I have noticed with this plandemic is the lack of care about mental health and how quickly those in power were to lock Us all up, how quickly they were to try and convince us that this was for our own safety for our own well-being.

When you separate people you weaken them, weaken their resolve and their immune systems.

I wrote a post a couple of months ago about how hugs are important for our over all well being, how hugging releases certain hormones (oxytocin) and chemicals (serotonin), which helps us deal with really stressful situations and help us to move forward.

When we become distressed and upset our body releases cortisol, which slows down our healing and heightens our senses. It is our bodies way of trying to fix things, but it can feel very intense.

It also drives us towards social contact, as we inherently know how healing it is to have some one comfort you. And when you do have that contact, when you have someone reach out and hug you, then your body begins to release Oxytocin. Which is known as the love hormone and triggers our bodies ability to self heal. Alongside serotonin,a neurotransmitter that increases our levels of happiness and pleasure.

What we have experienced and are still experiencing, has put a lot of people under so much stress. It has caused families to be separated, loss of jobs and loss of income. With so many stuck in their homes, not able to leave, some of those homes being abusive homes, homes where individuals get neglected. Suddenly being forced together with no escape and o top of that experiencing high levels of stress, this is really a recipe for disaster.

There is little to no support for those people who are suffering at the hands of others.

I have so many questions, so many doubts about how all of this has been allowed to play out. As I am sure many of you have. So much doesn't add up at all.


I never trusted in general narrative and although in the beginning I was put into a situation where I did isolate myself. I done that out of respect for someone else, not for myself and certainly not for what I believed in.

I guess in the first few weeks everyone was a bit of shock and of disbelief, not knowing what to do and not really knowing how long this was going to go on for.

But I never stopped being affectionate with my friends, when I did see them. To be honest I started hugging them a lot more and for a much longer period of time, because it felt so right to do that, to connect with them in that way. Because that is what is needed right now.

It is in times like this, that we need to come together, that we need to be there for one another and to support one another. We need that physical contact with now more than ever.

But instead, mostly I have seen communities divided, I’ve seen friends fight with one another, put one another down, label and belittle them. I have seen such a huge divide.

Even in times of war, at the end of each dramatic day, no matter what happened, people were still able to come together, to be together to hug one another and support one another. To hold one another’s hands, to have that physical contact that is so important. So important to help keep us sane, to keep us healthy, even in times of war!

I am trying to not pass judgement on others, to just let them live their lives how they wish, but yet I can still see the fear in their eyes. I can hear their distress when they talk about, how selfish some people are for not following the rules. For what they believe is endangering other people's lives.

I have always relied on my instinct to tell me what is right from wrong. And when this first started, it all felt very wrong. So I researched some and educated myself some more. I wondered and continued to wonder why we are not focusing on building up our immunity.

Why, instead are so many focusing their energy on tearing others down, on pointing fingers at one another.

I am hoping that over time, most people will remember what it is to be a human, what it is to be close to those we care about, to embrace them when they are sad and distressed, instead of maintaining social distancing.

I really hope we all remember who we are!

This is my response to the EcoTrain question of the week!

image.png




Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

A veces el afectuoso abraso mas importante que cualquier cosa,mas cuando va con sentimiento, gracias por compartir.

Excelente post. Ciertamente el abrazo es lo más reconfortante que podemos dar y recibir.

Remembering what it is to be human is most important thing of all. Had I seen you in Spain as planned I would have hugged you sooo tight. Planning own response to this now. Love you. Xxx

I know what a hug that will be when we do meet and I have no doubt that we will. Love you xxxxx

There is nothing as great as the power of a hug, I agree

I too wonder how much our society will lose it's sense of humanity through all this.
I feel fortunate that the actual community in which I live are more open minded and caring ( not as much when you go to town) So my day to day life is not affected as much . My concern is when I return to school in the fall with the guidelines they have given us it will be very strange. I feel for the youth growing up through this, it will be there "norm" - how many will not know what it is to be able to freely express your affections and openly be giving support through hugs or human touch. We still don't know what the guidelines will be for the Pre-K and kindergarten for it was a unique program which for the Pre-K would be totally wiped out if we tried to follow the guidelines they are now putting in place. The coordinators of the program etc. will be putting guidelines together for us and one of those folks is a wonderful, caring person which will be fighting to keep that caring and nurturing nature in the Pre-K rooms. Hopefully there will not be too much bureaucracy and she will be heard. This was a strange ending to this year and will be strange year next year. That will be my last year for I turn 65 and will be retiring.

I can't imagine what it will be like having to work in the educational system if they are imposing social distancing. I hope that your school will not do so, it really scares me to see what is happening in some countries, especially over here in Europe. I just heard that in Spain all kids over 10 must wear a mask all the time whilst in school and that the rooms will be disinfected every half hour. Sending you love xxx

Loading...
 4 years ago  

You are extremely correct. Hugging or human contact helping each one of us to survive in this world. Having someone to rely on feels us more comfortable to does things. Instead of sticking each other and supporting each other. Human are showing their real colors about being selfish. They forgot that sticking together will kills this virus into our body.

Very well written

d' dreamboy is here,
@mrnightmare89


We support and encourage writers sharing quality eco-green content. DELEGATE TO ECOTRAIN Your delegation will go a long way!

image.png
@ecoTrain
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

thanks so much for you feedback, I do hope we do not lose our humanity in all of this xx