ecoTrain QOTW 9.6. "WHY IS IT SO HARD TO MEDITATE?" - JOIN US!

in ecoTrain2 years ago

IMG_20220221_144335.jpg

And we arrive at week 9.6 and the topic that corresponds to us to develop is "WHY IS IT SO DIFFICULT TO MEDITATE?"

A recognition to @eco-alex for bringing us every week themes that allow us to leave the best of us.

Separadores-21.png

I learned to appreciate the beauty that exists anywhere by walking or standing in the field; detailing the outline of the mountains, observing the contrasts of the foliage, the shape and colors of the flowers, of the leaves or enjoying, after a rain, the aroma of the humid air filling my lungs. I was silent, thinking of nothing.
In the city I did something similar, in squares and in crowded places; observing their faces, their gestures, their figures, without paying attention to what they said and looking at them without passing any judgment. Likewise, I always observe the urban landscape and the play of colors that the buildings offer along with the vegetation and the ever-changing sky.
This I did without knowing that I was very close to meditation. When I started reading about the subject, I realized that I already had something advanced, like a first step, in that of full consciousness, the here and now, or of becoming aware of our surroundings, observing without criticizing, so that the mind is not an obstacle.

IMG_20220221_152116.jpg

Then, influenced by the readings, I began to practice mindfulness within myself; staying aware of the sensations I felt, my breathing and how the air entered my lungs. This part of the meditation focused on my interior, for me it was easier to do it in my house and in some squares, as well as in the countryside; but walking makes it easier for me to concentrate on the external than the internal. Standing up I can do it more easily with the internal, I find it difficult to meditate in those traditional positions with all those postures and with all those mantras... But, let's say that, at a basic level, I have learned to understand the importance of meditation , especially in this world we are living in today, so saturated with technological stimuli; overwhelming images and information, which occupy practically the entirety of our vigil; immersing ourselves in an alternative reality or "CYBER REALITY" with which the natural reality almost ends up being banished from our lives.

My personal opinion about meditation is that it corresponds to a cultural elaboration carried out by the peoples of Asia; especially from India, China and Japan. But this cultural tool, meditation, is based on behavior patterns that belong to the human race.
Take for example the attitude of children playing hide and seek. How do they behave? They remain silent; concentrating all their attention on the environment, they observe and listen with intensity...
Let's look at another example. How does a hunter who sneaks up on his prey behave? He also remains silent; his body is relaxed, he moves smoothly without making any noise, his ears attentive, his eyes fixed on his prey and his consciousness fully immersed in the action to achieve his goal.

1645322001766.webp

Although I have practiced meditation quite a bit, I understand its relevance in the processes of improvement and personal empowerment, being also very simple and accessible to anyone, since, apart from previously obtaining basic information; only the body itself, the personal decision and a certain mental disposition are enough.
And, if it's that good, then:
What is meditation for?
For what purpose would we do it?
What achievements can we get through it...?
I have asked myself all these questions over the years and, as fortunately I like reading, I have been answering them; of course, from my point of view; but, helped with the abundant information available on the World Wide Web.
I was building a mental map to orient myself in that stormy ocean of information on the internet.

IMG_20220221_233826.jpg

For the peoples of Asia, MEDITATION has a transcendental, mystical meaning. For centuries they have tried to link the personal life of the meditator with the TOTALITY of the universe; training, at the same time, in the arduous and long path of perfection; in order to get closer to DIVINITY. We, the peoples of the West, are more practical, and we have turned meditation into a therapeutic and personal growth tool. Well, already at a medical level it is proven, the benefits that the practice of MEDITATION has for health. In addition, we empower ourselves individually, when we acquire control over anxiety, stress, also becoming more aware of our perceptions of what we feel and what happens, both in our body and in the world around us.

In this 21st century, where the media, social networks and the World Wide Web are omnipresent; It is certainly extremely difficult to avoid the avalanches of stimulation, information, entertainment, worries, responsibilities and the battles we wage to obtain what we need and achieve the goals we desire. Certainly we have to live in a difficult world, as has always happened, in all periods of human history. Life may be easy for a few, but for the vast majority, we have always had to fight very hard. And precisely, that fighting spirit, that will to get ahead, is our best incentive, to take time and dedicate it to our body and our mind. Meditation is a good opportunity for that purpose.

EEEoA8oLaAxsynowFFk4bE8dLXHjFGvtfzGwQ77PV1zaXRXvaHgxLWTjRVnqVrBQ2Gai6km3GysLWkHTyUtmQ1VXvwsxnZs2Jbv9ZPJ8PRhtjk3sW4HeMVEwXjw1y1WXkAefZ123GYnPfTVN794FG (1).png


Created by @derangedvisions

3HaJVw3AYyXBBQkN3tCkeqGDncZiRLVNg5Jyv5RiCGf2FwTABcit1xhrJah2F164gn61DuEGNWJCniA23H2tM6PFAUPdPXCPKZKvLX8.jpeg