You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Residential Schools

in Psychology2 years ago

The church has a long history of this not only with native Americans but also in Africa and even ion Catholic school in Europe. Humans suck sadly and things like that happen out of the church as well . I forget the exact numbers but it was something horrific like 40 to 50% of kids in foster care are sexually abused and the rate for kids of colour was even worse. I am not a Christian although my family is Russian Orthodox and I was in Catholic boarding school. as far as Popes go the current one seems to be the better kind but I am not sure he even knows or cares sadly.

Sort:  

As you say, there is widespread historical evidence of these abuses. I’ll bet the pope is well aware.

I meant more about the resent findings not the overall abuse