You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (500) Days of Summer

in The Alliance2 years ago

TLDR: nice post @hazem91, I enjoyed your breakdown of the movie!

One thing I really liked about 500 days of summer, that made it stand out as worth watching, is that Zoey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt appear in a few indie films together. One that I loved as a teen, which is a terribly toxic story fyi, is Manic. In this film you see the two at the beginnings of their careers (JGL was just the kid on 3rd rock) in case you want to watch it someday I won't spoil it, but 500 days of summer seemed to fill a need Manic left... and was also satisfying for someone who followed their indie careers.

I like your synopsis of the movie, overall it's nothing profound or special. One thing worth talking about, that I think is often overlooked however, is highlighted in this bit:

Gave him mixed signals. Right! But when sober and thoughtful she made it clear their little game isn't leading anywhere. She toyed with him. I'll admit. But he also toyed with himself.

I don't think she toyed with him at all, they hooked up while wasted, and Tom expressed his feelings soon after by trying to define the relationship. It is then that Summer tells him "let's just have fun". The thing is, Tom was using her to meet his own expectations- which is outlined in the Expectations vs Reality montage, where he daydreams of how things would be if her every move were just centered on him. If there is someone in the wrong here, it's Tom.

Part of what mislead Tom was the enjoyment of a sexual relationship, which Summer was healthy and fun with- leading to the feelings. That wasn't mixed signals, they agreed to FWB and Summer was a nice person who wanted to be friends instead of having a cold hookup. Wanting a friendship with a sexual element is valid, and good for both parties if they are in agreement (not my thing but it seems cut and dry). When Tom signals that he didn't actually take her feelings seriously when the situation was discussed, that is when Summer pulls away. The theme of him constantly pushing her is hard to denounce, because I'm pretty sure we've all been Tom in one way or another. It's not a crime to seek love.

Sorry to write an entire post on your thread, but it just kinda fell onto my keyboard 😂 In summary, I think your take from this movie is great. It's a murky love story, and you summarized that very well :) here's hoping you find your Autumn someday soon!

Sort:  

Oh!
Thanks for reading and commenting. Good to see that I'm not the only one whom this movie provoked and made overthink lol
Yeah, she was clear. But usually, some guys want to focus on the slightest positive signals and ignore the negative, especially when in love 😁 (You know, I've been there and done that 🙈) That's why I kinda took his side for a while in my post.
Don't apologize for being genuine. Ever.