Damien, the Wolf of the Splinterlands [Revisited]

in TeamPH (Philippines)last year

Its about to be 3am.

Its ALWAYS 3am.

It seems like every hour of the day has blurred past with responsibilities, duties, and other activities but then at 3am... everything slows down and I have time to think. A time to put things to perspective.

Or perhaps, just a time for some coffee.

I reach out to take a sip and let my senses take in the aroma while clicking lazily on my keyboard, sifting through tabs containing links to my social media accounts. My Facebook page now has 6800+ followers. Youtube account already has 1300 subs. Twitch, Twitter, Tiktok, Instagram accounts slowly but steadily growing. Wow. Have I done this much work?

I take another sip.

Has it always been this way? I fight the urge to argue with my own sense of time (or lack thereof), and attempt to get a grip on what my current feelings are. Is this Joy? Sadness? Melancholy? This is a dangerous time, 3am. Memories breeze through my brain and I ponder on how it should affect me. Should I be disheartened at missed opportunities? Is there anything to look forward to?

My endless scrolling stops at a picture on one of my folders.

331751378_1362359151205605_4898714246044473150_n.jpg

Something to look forward to? Hell, yeah.

This deserved another sip of coffee while I allowed myself to look back and remember how all this came to be.


First Howls

Before all this craziness, many many moons ago, I started playing Super Mario when I was around 3 or 4 years old. I am not going to expand on how I grew as a gamer but saying games have been a huge influence in my life is a tremendous understatement. Mario gave way to Top Gun (family com era), to NBA Jam and Street Fighter (super famicom), to Pokemon (gameboy), Pit Fighter and Turtles in Time (Sega Genesis), Metal Gear Solid, FF7 (Playstation Era) and continued to grow and expand to other games. But if you were going to ask me what were the games that REALLY changed my life, it would be DOTA, Counterstrike, and Initial D (Arcade Stage). Dota and Counterstrike (where I met my friend Leinil, penciler of Wolverine and Xmen) would introduce me to team play, tournaments, bets, etc. While Initial D introduced me to actually working on, and achieving, a goal set out to myself which was... be the best player ever.

And I did just that.

For the most part of Initial D Ver 4, I was the number one Filipino Player, and the first Filipino in Initial D gaming history to ever get a World Record (See Link).

Wolf - World Record Run Akina Uphill Wet

Needless to say, I was used to competition and I was into different genres. Initial D got me into actually being a racing instructor in real life. But again, another story for another time. ;)

25551_1393096391310_3098478_n.jpg
Tuason Racing School Instructor. Coolest Job Ever.


Stray paths... Splintered Destinations

I started streaming late 2020 as a test and more around January of 2021, mostly Ragnarok Mobile streams, being the guild leader of STRAY. Nothing fancy as my character isnt the strongest around and people who view my streams visit out of curiousity (since I do a lot of "guestings" on other streamers' streams), and stay for the chill athmosphere and the fact that they say I sound like a DJ. Not a surprise. I've made a living and a career out of it which again is another story for another time. The NFT bug bit the Philippines around May or June. It's been lurking around before that but really boomed after a documentary about another game stretched interest into a phenomenon and people were scrambling here and there trying to be a "scholar" while some tried to find other NFT games to hopefully get a head start on. I was one of the latter and the research led me to Splinterlands.


Let the Cards fall where they may...

Back in the day, MTG (Magic, the Gathering) introduced me to the wonderful world of willfully destroying brain cells (and wallets) in a game of flinging, collecting, trading small pieces of cardboard. Yep... "cards". I was a rogue deck builder and enjoyed my time on small tournaments and many many casual games with friends. It was on-off for me on MTG and the pandemic ultimately led me on a really long hiatus as I could no longer go to tournaments, trade, and play face to face with friends. So when on that fateful day I saw Splinterlands, I was only lukewarm to the idea of an online TCG game. I relished the thought of duking this out on a real table but after trying things out, the game DID pique my interest. Rules were easy enough to absorb and the "Splinters" were as near to "colors" of my beloved MTG.

When I first streamed the game, I only had like 1 or 2 viewers. Tops. Somehow though, by some sort of Miracle, people were discovering my Splinterlands content and taking notice. They saw me duking it out with my very own Llama and Kron and listened to me advise them about Mylor Crowling. New people were getting in on the game and there was again a mad scramble to look for information (from streamers or youtube) to get advice. The foreign OGs definitely were a big help (clove, drabs, etc), but Filipinos wanted somebody a little more closer to home. I became known as DamienWolf of Splinterlands from that day forward.


A Steem... A Theme... A TEAM.

I've run out of coffee.

As I slowly pour another batch, snippets of the SPLINTERLANDS journey I had to get to this point have begun to flash in my mind, merging into an amalgamated mesh of inspiration, slowly gaining steam even more than the brew filling my mug...

TeamPH.png

251556771_280339447324900_2243404935652144353_n.jpg

280941082_400615325297311_8318019740245124207_n.jpg

1000packopen Thumbnail.png

331664067_2072102549653299_7529947131701971093_n.jpg

InterviewSeriesDwayne.JPG

332073448_1135196670504594_4342320448873129589_n.jpg

POSTER3.JPG


But with all experiences I have had... with all the wonderful people I have met, with all these pictures and memories, a humble few will be the perfect end to these weird feelings and give me just the boost I need to continue on this amazing journey...

301695600_464019545736699_6968139847716696600_n.jpg

new4444.JPG

253602307_283002177058627_2430429915799155474_n.jpg

Newww33.JPG

new222222.JPG


I finish my cup of coffee and smile.

Its now 3:01 am.

Sort:  

I do not have a Facebook account (I did when it was invitation only to edu accounts), I don’t have instagram or Twitter.

I do have a hive account. I have 950K hive.

I do have a Splinterlands account and I have 3.5M SPS staked.

I am financially free.

Your choice, facebook or hive :)

This post has been given a 10.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord

Good morning boss.
Happy birthday 🎂

image.png

You need it
!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@dadspardan(1/20) tipped @damienwolf (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @damienwolf! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you for participating and sharing your content with us, it's always a pleasure to read something posted by Philippine's original and number 1 streamer. There are a lot of people that look up to you, so keep doing what your doing, TeamPH will support you. Thanks for posting that Picture from our Manila Videoke session, that was a lot of fun and the only time you will ever see @gnarkada1992 and @siegrune (2 of the Leaderboard players) singing whilst playing Splinterlands, at the same time.

Ahoo ahoo! Keep up the great work 👍 lodi!

It seems you're a big name in the streaming industry, congrats!
And it also seems you're a big fan of coffee 😅 finishing it in 1minute LOL

Anyways, I noticed you did a double post of the same content. This and that.
Hive is kinda strict about this so maybe you could edit the other one and erase all the content and write something along the lines of sorry, duplicate post, and you're good to go. Sorry if this seems offensive but I just want you to also enjoy blogging here. 😊
Next time, if you forgot to post in the community of your choice, you can check the community rules if they allow cross post and if they do, you can use that feature.
If you have more questions about blogging on Hive, you can ask us in Hive PH.

 last year  

Hi witty! Yeah finishing coffee in 1 minute. Not really an exaggeration lol. But thanks for the advice about the duplicate post. Its true, I just didnt know how to delete the duplicate post. I will do as you advised. Thank you!

There's no delete option, so you can't find that 😅

I hope you had your coffee fill for today hahahahaa

 last year  

Done and done. Appreciate your advice! See you around!

I Loved your Interview with Holoz0r!!