You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3D Printed Funnels

in 3D Printing3 years ago (edited)

Ok. Wasn't really expect that to happen. I was thinking with the guide it should make the print even smoother. Does the filament snapped when that happened? Also, if the guide is pulling the filament too far(when the drum rolling smaller as the filament running out), does it mean if we add a hinge to the guide and add a spring to it, to allow it to contract when the filament roll running smaller? Not sure if I deliver the message correctly, but my mind has been thinking of the VHS tape, the guiding roller has a spring to it, so when the movie starts it doesn't play too slow with deep voice, nor play too fast towards the end with chipmunks voice.

Sort:  

You're a smart dude bro ;)
Yeah the roll becoming smaller increases the angle and resistance. The filament snapping was not an issue, just the fact that the slim guide protruding out was feeling more and more resistance as the spool became smaller, and I was watching it, just waiting for the inevitable snap to occur.
I printed a two part solution that I will outline in the next post and will address in greater detail what you mentioned here. Thanks for the support my friend.