3D Printing Pen

@landonator convinced me to buy him a 3D pen the other day. It came over the weekend and I've been messing around a bit with it.

I made sure it was one that could accept the 1.75mm filament used by my 3D printer so we have a good size selection of colors to pick from.

20230204_160156.jpg

We used up the tester filament that came with it just messing around and making different shapes. I made @landonator a nameplate that he really liked and we made a little house that, because we ran out of red and had to switch to yellow, looks more like a garage.

These little things are cool when messing around, but not very practical in my opinion. What will make this pen useful is when household plastic breaks and needs to be put back together.

I've posted in the past about designing and replacing various things. Printing an axle to fix a remote control car or fixing my tonneau cover on my truck. Both repairs worked but they took a considerable amount of time to design and then print the whole object to be replaced.

My wife recently asked me to help her fix her cell phone holder in her car that had snapped. There was a weak point in the design and she wanted me to reprint the part for her. Glue wasn't holding it because it was too finicky to get the pieces to stay while it dried to get anything strong enough.

I didn't end up doing it because it was too time consuming and probably would have ended up breaking the same way so she just bought a replacement. The new one was made out of metal in the weak spot from the same company so they were aware that it was a design flaw. What would have fixed it easily would have been to just weld it back together using the 3D pen and build up a little bit of plastic around the weak spot.

An acquaintance also recently came to me asking if I can fix his air conditioner that had a piece of plastic broken off. I do refrigeration work, and he thought I might have a source for buying replacement parts. Unfortunately I had to tell him that companies were not really in the business of selling these little bits of plastic that break on their machines. Aside from having spare motors, relays, contactors, or compressors, they'll just sell the entire unit at a much higher price.

Well, next time something like this breaks, and it's a matter of 'when' not 'if' something breaks, I'll be ready.

Sort:  

Los lapices 3D son una gran herramienta para post procesado de piezas, yo hace un tiempo compre uno pero me vino fallado, lo lleve al servicio tecnico pero no lo arreglaron bien asi que termine por devolverlo y desisti de comprar otro. Estan buenos porque podes unir piezas impresas para que no se noten las uniones y para aprovechar el sobrante de filamento de los rollos.

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 260000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 270000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!