You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Womanhood, Gender & Self Determinism

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Yes, it is quite strange.. In an age where societies try to become wider minded does it appear that girls are girls more than ever before! Even the very small ones get nail polish put on.
I wouldn't say, I'm a tomboy, but we were brought up to try things and not be too timid when it comes to injuries and such like. I have a full motorbike licence, because my Dad convinced me that I could do it! Mind you, he was lacking any sons.. 😄

Still, society drives what we should wear and what not, however, it's more driven by sales figures of course, so again, driven by ourselves by what we buy.
It is almost impossible for me to buy tops that are not pink or turquois.. I hate both, but not keen on just kaki that is available for men either..

I'd like to think society is able to change, but sometimes I think it swings and roundabouts...

Greetings from the UK! 😃

Sort:  

That's so interesting, I guess I hadn't thought we are actually becoming more gendered in appearance due to media. If I had kids I'd be really limiting access to screens until much later with some really good digital literacy conversations happening!

I hate the pink and turquoise or pastel fashion cycle. Give me greens and blues, khaki and black anyday.

Where in the UK are you?