LOH#100- Rape case of a 20yrs old. A case of Depression

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Greetings wonderful ladies of hive!
It’s a new week, and indeed a new contest. Honestly, I eagerly anticipate the topic of discussion for each new week, as I hope to read amazing post from wonderful ladies around the world. This week, I will be responding to question one. Read along with me.


1️⃣ Do you know how to be an effective advocate for your beloved one or friend when they're dealing with a mental health issue? Do you know how to respond, whom to contact for help? Have you ever been faced such a challenge?


I will be answering the above question based on a true life story.

In My country Nigeria, sex for grade and sexual harassment is a major problem among the university professors and lecturers. I am happy I managed to escape without being a victim as I actually came out with an outstanding result and also the Best Graduating student of my department.

This story I am about to share is currently in court. I have a little daughter who is in her second year in school. We talk about every single thing, and I also assist her when it comes to academics as well as financial aspect.

On a fateful day, while at work, I got a call from her friend stating that my school daughter was depressed and was having suicidal thoughts. Immediately, I took excuse from work, and went to visit her. I reassured her of how I am willing to help her, only if she would share what was bothering her. I kept comforting her, finally she broke down in tears, and told me what was happening. She told me she was raped by one of the professors. I became so angry.. but then I wanted to know how it happened.

She told me, it all started when she came late to class, the lecturer asked her to leave and never attend his class again. She became scared and went to his office to plead and explain why she came late, there and then the lecturer took advantage of her and raped her.

I asked her if she has told her parents, she said I was the first person she was telling. She told me how she was ashamed and the said lecturer keeps threatening to kill her if anybody finds out about it. Well, I will not let the issue go just like that.

I made some calls to friends, to find out steps to take in situation of rape. I got helpful Information. I told her to call her mum, she did. The mum came to school, tried talking with the professor, Head of Department as well as Dean of department, the professor in question, denied and said it was mere allegations.


A9159F0C-8254-493D-8E00-1CFA15A94FFA.jpeg
[source](port-Harcourt central blog)

A friend told me about a body called FIDA which is an international body of female lawyers. I and the mum, went there and laid a complain. This body proved very helpful, as they bought the case. First they took my school daughter to a doctor for test. The report from the test confirmed some semen inside of her, and the test also confirmed that there was actually a rape.

Immediately, FIDA, wrote a letter to the vice chancellor of the school seeking for permission to allow the arrest of the professor in question. The request was granted, The professor was also arrested and suspended by the school and the case was charged to court. The case is still currently in the court of law, my school daughter is currently under strict medical care, as she is emotionally and psychologically down. I keep praying for God to grant her Justice.

I am happy I came to her aid at her lowest time. It is always good to be a friend to those who are going through mental and emotional stress as you might be saving a life.

Thank you for reading through my post.
This week, try and look out for someone who is depressed. You might just save a dying soul.

Hive is a safe place for all.
Peace ✌️ and love ❤️

I will like to invite the following ladies to join in this contest
@jamerussell
@shohana1
@nkemakonam89
@trangbaby
@sweetsoul
@littlebee4

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@beautiefair, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Wow, what a brave decision you took am sure such will never happen again. For God sake how does it look pleasurable to rape a minor who is innocent when you have a wife at home. Well, am glad he has been arrested for his actions.
Thanks for sharing this, do have a blessed week.

We all pray Justice prevails.

Congratulations @beautiefair! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow! What a cruel lecturer. Taking advantage of a lady because she came late? That's unfair and. Good you came in for her and made sure the man was arrested. That serves him right and will surely teach others lesson.
I hope the girl in question would be fine soon.

Other lecturers involved in that act will be more careful now. We just hope justice prevails, you know Nigeria and her system

Hmmmm
Things are really happening 😭
What a wicked lecturer without conscience. Well,thank God he was finally arrested.
Thanks for sharing your story with us and thank you for the invite 👍

!LADY
!ALIVE

View or trade LOH tokens.


@nkemakonam89, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @beautiefair and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@beautiefair! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @nkemakonam89. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What a horrible situation, I hope justice is served. many ladies suffer very serious consequences in their mental health due to such cases of sexual abuse. Thanks for sharing

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@irenenavarroart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @beautiefair and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thanks friend!

Hmm the world is no longer a save place to be oo. Nice action you took

I am telling you.

There are many like this in university nowadays
The funny thing is that they do it with girls who are old enough to he their daughters

I don't know why this kind of person became a lecturer. I feel so sorry for what happened to the girl, and glad you did the right thing, bravo you.

I really appreciated you taking time to join us !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@trangbaby, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @beautiefair and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/8 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you friend!

Exactly what we pray, the system should not be compromised.