Colourful and creative

As the end of the year approaches, I begin to get excited for a few very good reasons. It's a nice time of year for me, a happy time, and I always look forward to it coming around because it's so colorful and creative, or so I make it.

I love the festive season and spend a lot of time leading up to it making my own decorations for the Christmas tree, the lunch and dinner table and the house in general. Do I go overboard with it...well, that depends on who you ask. I say, no I don't, but my long-suffering-lover-boy would say, yes, I do go overboard. He gets over it though and doesn't complain . I surround him with crafty Christmas decorations and he just accepts the inevitable.

The house looks very Christmassy at the moment, it's so splendid, and I'm really looking forward to making the food, setting the table and making it look all pretty and festive, and to spending a lot more time with my boy...if I can find him under a mountain of Christmas decorations.

I also like this time of year because I don't have to go to work. It's not that I don't like my job, just that over my Christmas break I have sustained time to do more of what I love without the interruption of work. I usually have some projects planned and this year is no different.

I'm going to refurbish our outdoor setting, the table and chairs, do some painting inside and a little outside as well. I'll spend time in the garden too, I always do that.

Inside, I want to create some additional mood and there's nothing like paint to do so; it's relatively cheap and with the range of colors available one can create little spaces within spaces with a little creativity. Once the paint goes on then it's time to accessorise with chairs, lamps, cushions, knick-knacks, pictures and so on. It's so fun!

20221212_135549.jpg

I took this image

One of the best things about this time of year is that I get to spend so much more time with my man; he also has time off work and we make full use of it by doing so many things together.

My fellow is a very handy guy, he's always doing something, and when we are both off for a few weeks we do a lot of those things together. I think I'm more of a hindrance than a help sometimes though, but he shows some patience (mostly) and doesn't mind when I bring him screw drivers instead of wrenches and hammers instead of saws - I blame him for making me go get stuff in the first place! 🙃

We also do a lot more fun things together as we have all week and not just the weekends to do it: Picnics, walks on the beach, drives in the country, late-night movies and snacks, cooking together, breakfasts with our books at favorite cafe's and so much more. It's a really lovely time and we both cherish it.

I've got a few more days of work left before I'm officially finished for the year and I don't need to go back until the second week of January so I'm counting the days, (ok, I'm counting minutes), and am looking forward to that moment I walk out of work the last time for a few weeks.

I see this time of year as colorful, like it colors our lives a little more than usual due to the time we get off work together and the festiveness of this time of year. We add a little creativity of our own and that makes for a very colorful and creative time of year.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

That's right Becca, this time of the year is full of aromas, flavors, and colors plus the plus of love at all levels, and that in these festivities comes to the surface in all good hearts. May everything be beautiful for you and may these mini Christmas holidays be to build more life and health in family.

It's a nice time of year isn't it? Of course, the shops get busy and there's grumpy people around because of it, but I don't shop much so I'll not have to deal with it.

Becca 🌼

Yesssss, it's a time full of joy, lots of brightness, good wishes, genuine friendship and above all love and gratitude.

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@becca-mac, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

That's fine, there will be a lot of colorful decorations then. I hope you make a post about it on Christmas. I wish you the very best of luck.

I'll probably do a post or two over my break.

Becca 🌷

The colours are really beautiful

They certainly are.

Becca 🌼

Enjoy the time off from work - it is always a welcome change I think - or at least, I feel that way. :)

Yay for time off work! I think it'll be a really nice few weeks, fun too. I hope you get some time off also?

Becca 💗

Yeah, I am going to take a few days between Christmas and New Year's - maybe a couple in early January too :)

That sounds good. Maybe you could do some cooking and baking in your new kitchen? Maybe someone else will do the cooking and baking and you can do the eating? It's a familiar theme here.

Becca 🍔

That would be grand. I am not the greatest cook anyway, so it is probably better if I stay out of the kitchen :)

Sorry, late reply...much going on here.

I am not the greatest cook anyway, so it is probably better if I stay out of the kitchen

These excuses don't excuse from cooking. It may excuse people from eating your cooking though. 😁

Becca 😊