Favorite Hobby - TRAVEL - LOH Contest #71

relaxing in the pool_LI.jpg

I've always loved traveling but I haven't had the time or the funds to do it as much as I'd like. Since I retired in 2017, traveling has been a big part of my crossing off "bucket list" items. Unfortunately, covid put a stop to a lot of travel and so that has been more of a problem.

From my early twenties, when I purchased my first Harley-Davidson motorcycle and started riding my own bike instead of being a passenger, I have loved the call of the open road.

image.png

This is a picture of my and my Fatboy (that's the model of Harley, lol) on my trip to Chatanooga, TN for a Harley convention. You may have read about one of my adventures on this very trip where I talked about my "most embarrassing moment" due to a wardrobe malfunction!

image.png

This one is a picture of me on my best motorcycle trip ever! A group of us took our bikes to Montana and toured Yellowstone National Park, Glazier National Park, went up into Canada, and down into Wyoming. It was a dream trip that I will never forget.

image.png

Sometimes I travel with my mom. This is from a cruise vacation that I took her on as a Christmas gift. No, the cruise wasn't on this bamboo raft, lol. This was an excursion we took while docked in Jamaica.

image.png

Most of the time though I travel with my husband, better known on Hive as @crypt-skip. This was from our honeymoon cruise to Hawaii and here we are on a catamaran for a whale-watching excursion.

image.png

Probably one of the more thrilling travel events was this trip to Virginia for white water rafting. This is the actual river that the movie "Deliverance" was filmed on. The tour outfit that we took this trip with sold t-shirts in their store that said: "If You Hear Banjos - Paddle Faster!"

image.png

Another unique experience we had was taking an Amtrak train trip from Chicago, IL to San Francisco, CA. This is a picture of @crypt-skip filming the beautiful scenery in Colorado from the observation car. We saw some really extraordinary views that you would never see traveling by car. But a sleeper car in a train was not quite the thrill I thought it would be, lol. I'm glad that we did it once, but I don't think we'll be repeating this particular mode of travel.

image.png

Another of my favorite trips, combining TW0 hobbies, was to go horseback riding in southern Illinois in the Shawnee National Forrest. I owned a horse as a teenager, and I've always loved riding. It's a special treat when I get the opportunity!

image.png

This one was from a trip to Cancun, Mexico that we took with my son and daughter-in-law. It's a welcome thing to get away from the winter weather and go somewhere warm and sunny. International travel is a lot more of a pain in the rear these days, though.

vic at top.jpg

A trip that we took last July was to Seattle, WA and here's a shot of @crypt-skip on a hiking trail in the Olympic Mountains. We encountered a black bear not far from where I took this picture. Thank goodness the bear was more interested in the berry bushes than us! We loved Seattle and plan on returning sometime in the future. Riding the ferries to the islands was a really fun experience.

Travel is a great way to broaden your horizons and take yourself out of your comfort zone. Seeing new places and meeting new people is one of things I looked forward to in my retirement. I'm very fortunate to have some opportunities and to have my best friend at my side.

This was an entry for the Ladies of Hive, talking about a favorite hobby. All the photos in this story were taken by me or a family member or friend.

As a part of the contest, I'd like to invite @plantstoplanks to join Ladies of Hive, if you are not already a member!

alliance resized.png

resized pimp.png

KNoz79cGRt59F26ze6eP2tUxiihBmkfXYo9w7DDKsQPNkNhkUqF9FjD9GHUyFiYcXWdH2ADpn47sAEk15XwKttojSHKQ6x4gvtZJ18Bd9YWcK1euPdX447jKfDNcNU9sBi6SPiU7NEn1xdUbh6N7XFEeD4r3cHsGvfVcXPH5J4ZGFeUd2spU9vgBMKiqSV2uQaxTaqeQBHG3V.png

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blueeyes.jpg

inner.gif

Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account at Sign up for Hive.

Sort:  

You certainly know how to check off bucketlist destinations through the years!
✔✔✔

From horses to Harleys; to rafts to cruise ships; planes, trains, and automobiles -- you've used all forms of transportation!

You had me going with the photo of your mom and you on a bamboo raft "cruise" vacation! @blueeyes8960
😀😅😂

@ninahaskin, thanks for stopping by, I told my husband when I was writing this post and looking for pics, that we've been very very fortunate to be able to do the traveling that we've done so far.

I still have an Alaska trip on my bucket list, plus Niagra Falls and the Grand Canyon. There are so many beautiful things here to see and do.

That bamboo raft was indeed an interesting "cruise" down the river!

Travel is a great way to broaden your horizons and take yourself out of your comfort zone.

I totally agree! Someone once said not all education takes place in the classroom because travelling is a form of education.

I love to travel too but have never travelled outside of my country. Now with covid and all the travel restrictions, it has become quite hard to move around.

You really had some interesting travels especially on your bike. You look cool and badass beside your Fatboy! 😄 Lovely memories. Thanks for sharing them with us. A slice of !PIZZA for you. 🙂

Thanks @kemmyb, I hope you get all your desired opportunities to travel as well. It took us a long time to get to this time in our lives, so we are trying to enjoy it to the fullest while our health and funds hold out!

Thanks for the pizza!

Hehehe.. with your mom, i thought the cruise vacation was on the bamboo raft, lol.
You must enjoy motorcycling all over.
A great idea to visit all cities in the USA!
What an adventure!
Well, continue to enjoy the sites. You deserve it!
Thanks for sharing, @blueeyes8960.
Good luck with the contest!

Thanks @silversaver888, that little river trip was a pretty nice little adventure. Not too strenuous for mom and we had our personal guide who poled the raft down the river. He stopped along the bank and picked some kind of local plant that he ground up in his hands and rubbed our legs with it (that why we have white ankles) that was supposed to be great for the skin. It was a hoot.

Travel is the best thing to do in the whole world. Congratulations to can do it!

@tibaire it is indeed a blessing to be able to do. So many people retire and have bad health and aren't able to enjoy the things they worked their whole life to be able to do. Thanks for stopping by!

I wish I could say my hobby is travelling too,because I envy those who travel. I get motion sick when I am on a long trip, so I'll rather stay put than travel...

Motion sickness is a hindrance all right. I can't get on a cruise ship without the seasick patches from the doctor - they really do the trick!

And I tend to get car sick, especially if I end up doing any riding in the back seat. They make over-the-counter pills here like Dramine that will definitely help as well.

I hope you get the opportunity to travel and can feel ok while doing it!

I hope so too...life deserves a travelling adventure

My only experience of riding a motorbike was trying my brother's Kawasaki Enduro 175. "Neutral is between first and second gear?!" Well, at least I tried for a day and stuck with my mountain bikes since. Great travel shots @blueeyes8960 ! 🏍

I learned to ride on a dirt bike that we had bought for our boys and loved it from day 1. My husband at the time (my ex for a good reason, lol) FORBID ME to get my own Harley "because he would be scared of me riding my myself". You see how that went, lol.

Heh heh, at least I didn't wipe out.

What fabulous places you have visited! I think travel is a fine hobby! Thanks for sharing and entering the contest! 😊

image.png

Thanks @thekittygirl girl for stopping by, and thank you for the curation from Inner Blocks!

@blueeyes8960- you've had quite the adventures! All of it sounds exciting, but the train ride is very special because there is no way to go exactly the way the trains travel and you see scenery you would otherwise totally miss by car!

If you get up to Washington State, I know a lot of good private local trails that only our neighborhood knows about. The views are spectacular! Take care and safe travels!

Yes, the train ride was an experience. I've heard about one in Canada that's strictly a sightseeing trip where you stop overnight and get out and stay overnight in a hotel. I'd like that because you miss scenery by traveling at night (and the sleeping car sucked, lol). But that one is very expensive, it's going to stay on the bucket list for awhile.

That sounds just about perfect! I never thought about losing scenery at night, but you are indeed right! Someday, I'm sure you'll go, but don't forget to share the pics! Take care @blueeyes8960, and have a lovely day!

I'm sure if I get to take that trip, there will be a post about it! And we definitely want to come back to Washington, so we'd love to take you up on your advice @elizabethbit on hiking trails. Talk about beautiful country, wow!

It is beautiful here; fall is very pretty! Take care @blueeyes8960 and have a lovely day!💜🤗

Very nice post @blueeyes8960, I had forgot about those amazing vacations, thanks for the memories!

I know, I started looking back through the pictures and we are lucky to have been able to travel so many places. Lots of good times to come.

Each journey a great adventure, being able to have a taste of the road and freedom on your Harley must have been an amazing feeling.

Nice places visited, of course the train would have been my choice of travel, good we are all so different.

!LUV

@joanstewart(2/10) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Given the current emission rate of LUV pushing 500/day, increases to required LUV levels will likely be forthcoming.

@joanstewart thanks for the LUV! The train was an amazing experience as far as seeing things you'd see while driving. We met some people on there that we are still friends. @crypt-skip's dad was a chef for Amtrak, he could tell some good stories about train travel.

Train was the only way we traveled as young, it was always great enjoyment, something we miss. Folk who worked on long distance trains normally had a passion of train, and yes the stories.

Great moments... Nice pictures! Travel is what moves me!

So good review pictures and all that good sentiment it brings back! 💜

Glad you enjoyed the pics. A fellow traveler, maybe we will meet up some day!

Wow, you are such a great traveller. Travelling us so much fun for you. I travel, but haven't done this remarkable one with memorable pictures as these. I have also rode on horse but only for a short distance. I got scared, haha.
All the best to us all in the contest.

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you LOH, I'm definitely HODLING, even bought some when the price dropped to help keep the market price going strong!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@kemmyb(3/5) tipped @blueeyes8960 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Really nice to see you enjoying. We all should spent time for ourselves and do whatever we like

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening