If Wishes Were Horses | Ladies of Hive #61

Horses or unicorns? I like unicorns better.

I think the last time I made a wish was two years ago. The wish wasn't for myself but for someone I cared about. That one wish, the most important one, which didn't get granted. Before then, I was more of a practical person, maybe a little realist. I look at the negative sides of a situation long and hard. Some people misinterpret it as pessimism. They might be right.


pegasus-1952068_1280.jpg


2022 is on the doorstep! Grant yourself three wishes, let us know why! Maybe it is ideas on changing how we live, clean living challenges, social and cultural shifts, equalizing business to allow all to grow within new technology in creative manner, or something else.

I love how Ladies of Hive brought the topic this week. Grant yourself this wish. It makes me focus on things I know I can change or achieve. It makes me want to try harder. Now let's get to it.

Wish 1: To be kinder
You see, kindness is what I've struggled with most of my life. I have no idea how to show it. Providing a person's basic needs or being there for them is far from it. At least for me. I do those things, but there are the littlest of things that put a smile on a person's face. I want to be more present. Someone that makes people genuinely happy. My practicality won't let me. So yeah, I wish to be kinder and I'm already taking that step. This year has shown me that I can. It has also thought me that you can't share kindness if you aren't happy. Almost there.

Wish 2: To live more for myself
I'm not sure if this should be considered a wish. I think it kind of contradicts my first wish. Or maybe not. When you live for yourself, you do what makes you happy. So yes, you can share all that kindness when you are happy. I spent most of my life looking after people I love and worrying what others think of me. It took ma a long time to realise that I can't be everyone's therapist and people will sure disappoint. So, I want to do me now. Does that sound selfish? I hope so. I need some dose of selfish in my life. Contradicting myself again, I know.

Wish 3: I wish I could draw
This is totally unrelated to my first two wishes. If there's anything I love that isn't writing, it's art. I badly wish I could draw. Art is the most beautiful thing. Bringing lines and colours into life. Someone once aked if I had tried drawing and was shocked when I said no. According to him, if I love art this much, why haven't I tried it? We'll, I'm sure my biology drawings are ashamed of me. Let's leave it at that.

There, you have my wishes. @djoi, come tell me yours.


image source

Sort:  

It's nice to read from you and I hope your wishes are granted in year 2022.

Thank you. And you too.

Awww... those are all related!!!
And I wish that you get all three!
Thanks for sharing, @chinyerevivian.
Good luck with the contest.

I hope soo too. Thank you.

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Taking wishes for time for oneself, quite acceptable too often we assisting many around us and seldom stop to smell the roses.

Perhaps try some sketching under a tree in the garden, it's private, may take time to be proficient but you never know until you try again.

Thanks for taking time to join in the contest.

I just might give it a try. Thank you, Joan.

One never knows the answer if we don't try.

Did the biology drawings tell you they were ashamed of you or did the teacher speak on their behalf??? Too funny 🤣🤣🤣 even i can't draw to save my own life but I'm happy just like that.

All 3 wishes you have made sounds amazing to me 👌 which is why I pray all your 3 wishes come to pass.

Thank you Princess. I'm sure the drawings would have talked if they could. LOL

I was a little surprised by your first wish
Being around the Dreemie camp, I'd have put you in with the same sentiments and actions towards kindness
But that you want to work on it...first step indeed

3rd wish, my daughter just picked up digital sketching a couple of years back
Started out very basic, and now when I see what she does, I am so in awe
I look forward to yours in 2022 ;D

People connecting me with @dreemsteem, that's a good thing. Ha! Yes, I'm still working on it.

I don't know about drawing but I could try, just for laughs.

Personal development!
I admit to being a Work-in-progress myself focusing too much energy on my inabilities than that of my strengths. Nothing wrong in finding ways to better yourself after all we should be accountable to ourselves more than anyone else.
As for art, I just put up a post regarding a Marine Artist named Lawrence Packard and one of my favorite subjects, Sailing ships.

Thanks for sharing @chinyerevivian

Agreed. Personal development never gets old. We try everyday. Thanks for stopping by.

We first have to be kind to ourselves, before we can become kind to others, so your second wish should really come first xx I wish I could draw also, but your words sure do draw beautiful pictures for me @chinyerevivian xxxxx

Thanks you Ash. Your words always mean a lot.