before the waters drowned me - LadiesOfHive#79

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

asdadD.png

before the waters drowned me - my Christian journey

I am now happy and contented as an agnostic person, but before discovering my true self, my past religions helped me in finding it. Therefore I believe that experiences like this deserve to be acknowledged.

THE BAPTISM

It was on a hot summer day on April 23, 2018, when, for the first time in my entire existence, I felt born again.

I am a Roman Catholic at birth, raised by my conservative grandmothers in a small town in the province. During my early years, I was surrounded mostly by people of their kind, accompanied them to small religious gatherings every Sunday afternoon just for the free snacks (oh come on, I was a kid back then), even became part of a “cult-disguised-as-a-religious-activity” without realizing it and went to a Catholic school on 7th grade.

But still, I never really understood the Holy Rosary and its mysteries.

That’s why moving to a different city changed my thoughts about religion. Leaving the orthodox life I was used to, I started building up my circle of companions along with my new neighbors of the same age. They invited me to their church, a Born Again congregation. And just like a very “go with the flow” friend, I agreed.

Fast forward to April 23rd, the weather was fair and a bit windy, I held hands with people who also want to throw away their past selves and be “born again”.Together, we walked from the shore to the sea until our bodies were half-submerged in the blue.

That was the first step in my walk of faith.

Everything happened in a whirl. All I remember was when it was my turn, the pastor placed his right hand on my head, and lifted the other one while praying. Then I was doused in the waters.

btwdm1.png

And when I rose, my soul felt clean, as if I am a new person.

THE WALK OF FAITH

When you are a Christian, you are taught to always be grateful for everything that happens in your life, be it good or bad, because it is in accordance with God’s plan.

Or at least that’s what our church pastors used to say.

peakd apil.png
These photos date back to 2017-2018

A lot of things changed after I rose out of the waters. Though I still go out and drink with my friends, curse when I’m mad, and skip prayers during meals and at bedtime, I do feel guilty after doing stuff that displeases the Lord and eventually asks for forgiveness after reflecting on my actions.

I go to church every Sunday, but sometimes laziness drains my optimism in digesting the word of God. Eventually, I got closer to the people in the church and was doing well in revamping my life. After attending the annual youth camp, I totally quit drinking and became dedicated to serving God and making myself worthy of His love.

I have raised my hands, closed my eyes, and sang my heart out on praise and worship. I cried during a prayer night because my parents would send me back to my old home if I don’t pass a prestigious school’s entrance exam, my heart was heavy because I am already attached to the church, so everyone prayed for me. I have witnessed people speaking in tongues and how they humble themselves.

I have seen churchmates who backslid and have always wondered why they did such a thing, why they decided to detach themselves from the Lord and his church, and why they neglected His love.

My walk of faith was not just a simple stroll, I stumbled, got back up, and got to pick up different life lessons along the way. Despite everything, I can say Christianity has been a wonderful part of my life.

But that was before the waters, the very sea that witnessed my new beginning, drowned me.

Photo at the top by Banabila on Pexels.com

It would be lovely if @karenb54 will also submit her entry<33

Sort:  

But still, I never really understood the Holy Rosary and its mysteries.

Same I never understood it at all even now. We are forced to learn such stuff back then and as stubborn as I am I go outside the flow and never even bother learning it at all. There's also Angelus and other prayer stuff that needs to be remembered back then.

But that was before the waters, the very sea that witnessed my new beginning, drowned me.

This one is deep.

Catholicism is very complicated for me kuya, still I respect those who conform to it :))

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tpkidkai.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello @ephemrl.wisteria
Welcome to Ladies of Hive.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Thanks for sharing
and good luck with the contest.

thank you so much! looking forward to exchanging stories w/in the community <3

thank you so much! looking forward to exchanging stories w/in the community <3

We look forward to your articles, @ephemrl.wisteria

Thank you so much!❤️

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

thank you so much! <3

What a beautiful journey you are having now with your new-found faith :) As I read through the entries, I am convinced that most of us go through such phase where we stumble down, get kinda lost and then come back strong, either to the same religion or to a different one.

Thank you so much! Indeed, one's greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall, no matter the religion :)))

You are very welcome, and a big YES to getting back up :)

There is a saying, "Becoming a Christian is easy, staying a Christian is not." can be exemplified by the protagonist in the metaphorical story of Paul Bunyan's 'Pilgrim's progress'. My own walk with the Lord is not perfect either stumbling in many ways, on off, and back on often with my metaphorical knees calloused more from stumbling than in worship.
I learned that Sanctification can be a slow process as another word for Work-in-progress at least I swear less with room for improvement. Some of my Church friends are great role models and at the same time not so great role models. I still love them and remain apart of it for the teaching and the miracle that it continues to thrive.

Thanks for sharing @ephemrl.wisteria 🌸

Your journey is amazing.Thank you so much for the remark, it is well-appreciated♥️