What Am I Really Doing With My Life?: Ladies of Hive Community Contest #34

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

20210612_183940_0000.png

Oftentimes we are told to find our passion or our calling in life and stick to it, as one of the ways to live a fulfiled life. Besides the different jobs I do, I'm passionate about certain public health issues and I get the most satisfaction when I do things along these lines. But there is one thing I do not understand about myself. It has been a major challenge which has bothered me for the longest time:

I have this lingering thought (or fear) that I don't know what I'm doing with my life, that I'm wasting my life.

I feel like there is something missing, something always evading my grasp. It springs up this constant feeling of emptiness (sometimes worthlessness) within me.
As much as a part of me knows that I'm doing what I would consider my best in every aspect of my life, it just doesn't feel that way. And guess what's funny... people who know me think that I have everything figured out. I truly don't. But in recent times I've been working to
change that.

What I'm Doing to Overcome this Challenge
For one, I've been reading some self-help books recently to encourage myself. I've also been reading articles online and, truly, it's a relief to know that there are people wearing similar shoes. It's beautiful to know that I'm not alone in my confusion; there are people like me.

Also I have been doing some yoga and meditation. I joined the 21-day meditation with Alicia Keys and Deepak Chopra, and I've done 10 days so far. It's my first exposure to meditation and I must say it's going really great. I feel more and more in control of my own happiness.

Finally, I am making the serenity prayer my mantra. I try to fill my mind with gratitude for the things I already have and am in control of, while consciously suppressing those I can't control (yet). I hope to keep doing my bit in spite of the doubts, and let my conscience be my guide. I am gradually taking charge of my life again.
I'm inviting @stormz-y to the community; it's an amazing one. 🙂

This is not a part of my entry but I'd like to thank @ladiesofhive for the opportunity to express myself in this way. It feels good to know that there's a community here where ladies can freely share their thoughts.

Sort:  

I have this lingering thought (or fear) that I don't know what I'm doing with my life, that I'm wasting my life.

Assessing oneself helps to try answer questions, making change is never easy, taking steps to overcome this concern you appear to be finding a way to find better meaning.

No matter how confident the outside world think we are, we all have doubts about how or what we are able to accomplish with a clear conscious @ericaa, wishing you a wonderful day!

I'm learning everyday, and I'm grateful for the willpower to even do so. It's truly not easy.
Your words are very kind and soothing @joanstewart and they made me smile. Thank you so much, and have an amazing day 🙂

Greetings ma

Congratulations @ericaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you @phasewalker. Have a great weekend too 🙂