You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ~ Family planning a choice or mandatory? ~

in Ladies of Hivelast year

I think some things need to be separated.
First, marriage should not be mandatory and nor should having children. That should be a choice and yours or the couple's alone, not the parents' and relatives'.
Secondly, family planning should refer to how many children you want. I know many religious people think the more the merrier as they say children are gift of God, but raising those children right, giving them what they need (proper education included) is your responsibility and if you can't guarantee that, then why make children suffer?
I'm not going to be popular with my opinion, but this is how I see it. It's the 21st century.

Sort:  

Oh man. Did my words say the opposite? I was trying to emphasize that it is a choice to take kids or not. I totally side with you. I heavily believe on this, it is 21st century, no one should be pressurized to take kids and let alone for marriage.

It is true that once I am planning to be committed into a relationship, in the name of marriage and plan on still building our world, shaping our career, it is not selfish to take that decision. It is not selfish to take the decision of not upbringing another generation. It is not selfish at all.