Instead of dreaming big , i settled!!

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

“I do not know what i want to be when i grow up”

As i child i said that A lot, whenever we are asked in school, other kids has alot to say, a pilot, teacher, doctors or a Pilot

They were alway so precise like saying it alone was enough to actualize it but yes for some they worked towards it and are either what they wanted to be or better or at least close.

But me i never visioned myself being anything i wanted to go with the flow. I had different answer for every time the question is asked.

1CE7F127-D22D-4C1B-9FE2-06502DEB9986.jpeg

Lets back it up a little

I was the golden child for my parent especially my mum after trying for a child for 8 years after her first , i arrived... well i was told a boy was expected but instead they got me.
But still i grew up being like the boy they wanted, from my dress sense, to my actions..i ensured i never gave them any reason to wish i was a boy....

i was the best child any parent could ask for, well disciplined, best result in school, won competitions, loved God. I literally grew
Up to impress my family, i did everything by the book...

Not sure i knew any other way of doing things so including my life dreams i guess I was waiting for instructions too on what next or what is really expected of me.

Deciding what i wanted to be now i had grown and ready to move to college was still altered by JAMB ...if you are from this part of the world (Nigeria) I’m sure you understand but if not let me explain

we write a general exam here called JAMB to determine the course we study, you may write “engineering” and end with “Education” just to avoid rewriting over and over again cause it would still be same trend so you settle and make do with the course

Yes i settled and ended up with GEOLOGY still i gave it my all and graduated best in my class

This is after over 23 years of my life....

i woke up one day and everything changed , i decided that i didn’t want to have to settle.. yes It's never too late to try to do something about it and i did or will i say i am working on it...

So Yes i settled into life and it took me along... it wasn’t so bad, it may not be what i really wanted but it was just enough to make me into who i have become

9A7B5B04-139F-4ED2-BB08-B6EE73CBEC15.jpeg

My pastor alway says something
Man proposes, God disposes”
Meaning people can make plans but whether or not they are successful depends on God
So even if i had a dream and planned who is to say it would have ended up Just the way i wanted it to?

Well in all i am grateful for how far i have gone and i am grateful for the woman i have become.

Thank you for staying till the end until
Next time hivers

This is my entry for the ladies of hive contest of the week I invite @Merit.ahama to join ladies of hive community and take this challenge

Sort:  

Going with the flow, or just putting to use the Talent and gifts God has given you, can be satisfaction enough for the right person at the right place and at the right time.

Thank you @estherscott for sharing 🤗
And Welcome to #ladiesofhive ❤️

You literally took the words out of my mouth...
Thank you for sharing too

Going with the flow and happy with the outcome, happiness wins every time!

Congratulations @estherscott! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I never had a specific thing I wanted to be growing up to
I really went with the flow and it turned out alright :D

You are still young and the world is your oyster - and oh, I love the gratitude attitude <33

Ahaaaa this is nice, you're already participating in contests and I love that really 😊 just keep doing that and you'll see how fast you will grow here.

Dreams are part of us so we can't really do away with it but when we don't achieve some, we shouldn't kill ourselves over it. Like you said, Man proposes, God disposes

Nicely written, thanks for the invite dear... Let me see if I can make an entry as well

God has a plan for each of us, and while we may think something wasn't exactly how we would have envisioned it, God did!

Thanks for sharing!

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokes for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

Just my story..
Growing up I wanted to be a pilot... But when I applied for jamb I was clueless..I never knew I had the talent of cooking, but my mom knew and she cultivated it.
I eventually applied for economics and I was given home economics and hospitality management, now it's my dream to become a world class chef.. This life no balance Sha.. 🙃😜🤣