I Can’t Do Away with Old Plates #192

in Ladies of Hive2 months ago

Good day everyone, I believe you all are having an awesome day.

With regards to the second contest, I decided to make an entry because it resonates with me a lot. I believe after reading someone will suggest me a remedy to get rid of old plates in my home.

We all have different worn out things which there is no plan on discarding out. Reasons could be that it serves a purpose or no place to discard them. For me, it’s my kitchen utensils. My Plates, spoons and some pots.

The ones seen in the picture have lasted over 10 years now and I just don’t think of throwing them away or giving out.

Why do I find it difficult to get rid of them?

I just don’t know why even if you ask me. I have been using some of my plates and pot for over 9 years now plus. Infact, I just had to take pictures of the older ones not the newer ones because I do buy some of them when I visit the market.

Nowadays you can’t give out plates as gift items if it doesn’t go with food or something to accompany with. So I never considered giving them out.

Why? I tried to put myself in the shoes, if someone gives me plates whether old or new, what it seems like.

Although it’s nothing but the current economic situation of the country as regards high price of food stuffs will require anyone who receives plate as gift items to imagine what was the giver’s intention or motive. Does it mean he or she doesn’t have plates at home? And funny stuffs like that, that is why despite the plates been out for longer time and they still look okay, I didn’t consider giving it out talk more of discarding.

The best part of these utensils is that they are metallic and few ceramic. I have more metallic plates than ceramic because ceramics get broken easily especially when it hits the ground mistakenly.

Another plus for the metallic is that, children often play with plates a lot, it might fall from their hand, make bigger noise and lesser damage as opposed to ceramic with makes lesser noise and bigger damage. You can as well utilize it for a purpose for a very lengthy duration of years without it getting damaged.

My Tray Plate
Please don’t laugh at my tray, LOL, can you see my tray plate with the broken line in the middle.

Not that I can’t afford another one, I just feel despite the design and the way it is, it is still usable, I haven’t finished on enjoying its warrantee.

I only use it when my friends come around. It is a custom that we don’t eat separately. We eat in same plate which makes it possible to accommodate the meal. For this fact, I haven’t gotten worried lately if I should dispose it or not. It can still be used to dry peppers and the likes.

The only time when I can dispose the tray is when it has broken into pieces that cannot be used any longer. I will just organize a tribute for it because it has lived long.

I appreciate your time spent on my blog for reading. Enjoy the rest of the day. Bye!

All Images in post are Mine

Sort:  

Congratulations @faithgifty34! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2024 Winners List

Thank you so much @hivebuzz.

You're unstoppable @faithgifty34! We'll be here cheering you on every step of the way!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @faithgifty34 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I still have my Late Roommate's cooking and baking wares, I'm resisting their disposal since they carry with them many of my wonderful memories of her. It feels so hard to do.
Thanks for sharing @faithgifty34

Smiles, That's just the feeling, Thanks so much for reading, Do have a lovely day

View or trade LOH tokens.


@faithgifty34, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I think there is a charm in using something older. Besides the fact that they work perfectly as they did when they were new, some designs just aren't the same anymore. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

Oh that's true Ma, Thanks for reading to have a wonderful weekend.

You're very welcome!

Lol it's not laughable, it's cool that you keep stuff for so long and still find them useful.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@merit.ahama, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @faithgifty34 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.