THESE ARE A FEW OF MY FAVORITE THINGS~~TO SMELL~~ LADIES OF HIVE CONTEST #46

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Good day ladies. Hope all is well on this lovely Sunday afternoon.

Using my sense of smell has always been a huge benefit to my well being. I kid you not. Part of my morning routine during the growing season on the farm includes nipping off some herb leaves and sniffing away as I get ready for my morning stroll.

My first stop is always my sweet basil, then I grab some oregano, or cilantro but now since they are finally coming in, coriander is in the mix.

I find breathing in deeply the fragrance that herbs, flowers or even the scent of a freshly cut lawn can uplift my spirits . This practice is part of who I am and I can really feel the difference when the cold rushes in and there is nothing left to inhale. It's amazing to me but there are two things that can bum me out during the winter. One is not enough sunlight, the second is lack of fragrance in my world.

MY NOSE KNOWS!

Since my nose seems to be very nosey today, I will answer question #2. "What are your three favorite smells?

The tough part about responding to this question is the word three. I will confess right here and now, I blew it. There was no way I could keep my nose in check. She just kept sniffing around, then added to the list. I finally had to cut off my nose to spite my face, nah, just kidding, I figure more is better than less.

Top 3 sniffs...roses, sweet basil, and a tie here ladies, please indulge me, fresh cut grass and coriander.

IMG_2506 (2).JPG

I know I am breaking the rules, but my old factory is, well, getting old, but she sure has her stuffing together. My nose helps me relax. It hasn't grown too big yet and she's running on all passages. Shoot, my hubby often refers to her "as cute as a button". Go figure.😍

Etsy Item Listing Photo (2).png

My view from my front porch as the morning glories bloom and the green grass grows.

IMG_2873.JPG

The roses in my gardens have been excellent this year. I have been able to clip several each day to brighten and infuse sweetness into my kitchen.

IMG_2874 (2).JPG

The basil has gone into a second crop that I will be harvesting soon but not before I have had my fill of fresh tomatoes, fresh mozzarella with basil leaves and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar reduction. Oh the aroma, then the explosion of flavor in my mouth, sweet.

IMG_2884.JPG

I just love the sight as well as the scent of a newly mowed lawn. It makes me reflect on mother earth, how good we have it here, to have the dirt to grow grass and food.

IMG_2881.JPG

After using every single leaf of cilantro in homemade salsa as well as other dishes this summer, I watched as this same plant produced these lovely little nuggets called coriander. They have a spicy flowery smell that just makes me smile.

IMG_2888.JPG

Now here is where I confess, I saved the best for last. This very special whiff is like no other. It's indescribable, it's the scent of LOVE pure and simple.

A baby on her Christening Day.

IMG_4442.JPG

I hope all you ladies enjoy my post as much as I did.

Blessings to all.

Sort:  

I also can't imagine a world without smell, I looove your choices. Cilantro and its seed Coriander is one of my absolute my favourite herbs. The Coriander is dried out and coarsely ground, one of the main ingredients in what we call 'Boerewors' (farmer's sausage), absolutely delicious with the addition of cloves & nutmeg.
Freshly cut grass must be everyone's favourite, I love how you've described it!
And babies, don't they just smell gorrrgeous, she is too cute!
Thank you for sharing this with us, sweet nosey @farm-mom 😉🌻

The Coriander is dried out and coarsely ground, one of the main ingredients in what we call 'Boerewors' (farmer's sausage), absolutely delicious with the addition of cloves & nutmeg.

Yes!!!!! We are trying to emulate the smell at home ^^^

Hi @lizelle, glad you agree with my choices. I love to sit on my mover and buzz around cutting the lawn. The sight and smell of it when it's done is awesome to me. It's like a day at the park.😉
Hope things are improving for you, we are holding our breathe for my daughter's wedding to happen October 2nd, our covid numbers are improving again after a serge the last few months, but so far the gig is still on.
Fingers crossed, we are just so excited, she'll be my last one to marry. My hubby and I have been practicing dancing just like my daughter and he did last week when the family was here. Had a few chuckles, to be honest, Bob is not such a great dancer, he actually does better from his chair hehehe, he's got rhythm but he also has BIG feet. Keep that to yourself will ya, @thebigsweed is a sensitive guy.😀😁😂🤣

Once you tasted a good Boerewors, you're hooked not so! Hope you get yours right @edprivat 😉

Once you tasted a good Boerewors, you're hooked not so! Hope you get yours right @edprivat 😉

Hey @dandays, this one if for you (a boerewors is a sausage)

Nope @lizelle the closest thing we have is this

image.png

It almost looks identical, except it doesn't taste at all the same, it taste like disappointment and 😄 sausage. I feel like I already sent you pictures of sausage, a few times... was it you? 😄

You know me well, in order to achieve maximum appreciation I needed the definition.

I always explain my jokes, to make sure they don't land

Loading...

Now I am no lady and I love the smell of strange things like elephant dung etcetera, but I had to butt in here that thank you for your wonderful and regular, selfless support to our charity.

!PIZZA

AWWWW thanks friend, I wish I could do more. You are caring for those who can't do it alone, honorable sir and it is my pleasure to contribute to such a wonderful charity.
Elephant dung? Gezzz

What matters is always the hearts Lady Robin as no amount of riches in the world can match a golden heart. This place is not our home and it's what we do for others that counts.
So we thank you again for the help that you guys give us unconditionally so often and we view you as partners in our work with the poor.

Blessings to you and your faithful soul mate.

!PIZZA for you and !BEER for him.

@farm-mom! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Did you know you can earn $VFT through the PIZZA farm? (1/10)

I love your kind words, thank you, have a blessed day.

All genuine Lady Robin and thank you.

!PIZZA

@farm-mom! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Did you know you can trade $PIZZA on Hive-Engine, Tribaldex, or LeoDex? (1/10)

@farm-mom! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Did you know you can now buy Rising Star packs with $PIZZA? (2/10)

How did you know I was hungry? Thanks!

I am one of the 25% of people who find the smell and taste of cilantro revolting. LOL Just plain super nasty!

My 3 favorites: marigolds (yes, really!), roses, lemon verbena

Hahahahha, really, you hate cilantro but enjoy marigolds? Now roses and lemon verbena, yup, I am in on those. Fresh mint is pretty awesome too.
Hope this finds you well and enjoying the harvest. We have been so busy but we know it's now or never to get everything in and processed, it will all be gone soon. bummer!

Yeah, drove my husband crazy cause he hated marigold scent...

That's funny, did you bring them in the house just to razz him? I would. hehe
I plant marigolds all through the gardens, I have heard the scent keeps bugs away. I just think they stink.

I plant them all through the garden for the same reason. But just before a frost I would pick a lot and bring them in. :)) I also dehydrated them for the chickens, and back then, the dehydrators were in the house....

Oh never thought of that, feeding the chickens with them. I too clip the last of them, but I dry them out to keep the seeds for next year. Marigolds are such pretty, bright flowers that are easy to grow.

Empowering Thank You for using LOH.jpg

I love this. You sure know how to craft an engaging post. Your joy is contagious. Thank you for brightening my day. And happy anniversary!

Well, well, thanks for the nice comment and also for happy wishes for my Anniversary. Thank you.

I know I am not the best writer, far from it, but I do enjoy the process and most of all, the people I have met along the way. People like you, bring joy into my life. Thanks friend, have a fantastic day!

You put yourself onto the page very clearly. Best kind of writer there is! Generous.

Thanks so much, you just gave me a confidence boost!
Have a peaceful day.

Oh yes! The summertime smells of nature are certainly missed in our frigid winter world!
I love tomatoes basil and fresh mozzarella with balsamic vinegar. It is one of my very favorite summertime foods

I love cilantro but have never saved the 'berries'. Do you dry the coriander to use later? What recipes do you use it in?

Mowed grass and babies are good ones, too! Thanks for entering the LOH contest!

Well hello again. Tomato, mozz and basil, oh I could eat that everyday especially with the fresh picked basil. YUM!
I air dry the coriander, then jar it, when I want to add to soup or stews, which is where I use most of it, I use my pestle and mortar to grind it up into a powder. I think it adds a little spicy kick to the dishes.
It's funny how some of the of ladies also mentioned newly moved grass. It's that earthy scent I think we love.

Now babies, freshly bathed of course, (hehe), give off a scent of love, at least in my mind.
Thanks for hosting this week, great questions indeed.
Be well my friend and let's not think of the cold winter ahead of us, we still have a bit of summer left then hopefully a glorious Fall.

All wonderful in herbal and flowers, not so sure about babies well when the nappy is clean, I suppose.

Freshly cut lawn triggers the brain to keep an eye outside the window, birds arrive to pick up whatever moves below, yes it gets me going as well....

Hello there Joan, it's funny how a lot of other ladies agree on the cut grass scent, but now I should keep an eye out for bird activity as well. Good tip!

I agree, the clean nappy is a prerequisite 🤦‍♀️ 😁

Fresh cut grass, perhaps means the man of the home actually elevated off the couch to do the chore bringing chorus of joy to the pitter-patter of your heart.

Obviously mention of babies is grandchildren where it is love, hug and hand back, only receiving them fresh, good and clean 🤣

Best part of being a grand parent you get to hand them back. hehe

I don't have any, so no luxury to comment 😉

Wow nice photography. Very great contest entry.

Thank you very much @sumaiya. I really enjoy these types of contests, lots of fun.
Glad you dropped by.
Have a fantastic day!

The smell of roses, sweet basil, fresh-cut grass, and coriander are my favorite smell too, @farm-mom!
Thank you for sharing.'Ang good luck with the contest.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
And let's have fun!

What a wonderful response, thanks. I enjoy this community very much and have read some really great, sometimes intense content here. I think conversation with other women is so healthy for us. I think ladies tend to open up more than men, certainly share their feelings easier. Yes this is a community that I am going to keep a closer eye on.
Have a wonderful day!

You have received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for posting in Ladies of Hive.

So appreciate these new tokens, I wasn't aware that LOH was a token. Thanks much.

Nice photography and your garden looks beautiful. Enjoyed your post made me wonder how cilantro smells and yes a baby smell on christening is something I secretly do lol.

Oh my God 😅 your post is amazing and I enjoyed every bit and it makes me want to travel down to your area and enjoy every bit of nature there.

Your choice, I love them especially the a bady in her christensing. She is so cute. 🤗🤗.

Rose in time has been a wonderful flower people admire and cherish a lot. I confirm on the basil. The first time smelt a fresh basil was😲😲 that the person that gave it me laughed hard.

Thank you for sharing this unqiue post with us. @farm-mom. I hope you enjoy your anniversary celebration. Cheers😎💕

Thanks very much for your kind words and best wishes.
Have a great day.

Baby smell wins every time! Although I also love coriander. Lovely smelling post @farm-mom

Yup ,just love those babies, but let's admit there are times when they stink, not that ya love them any less. PU
😁😂🤣
Now I am thinking "new car smell", like a convertible corvette, bright red, with top of the line leather seats.
What do ya think? Flashy right? A girl can dream. hehe

Definitely flashy and red....but I have always been more of the tomboy variety and will stick with mine in the 4x4 variety of red ;)

👍👍👍

Hi! I actually struggled to think of more than 2 absolute favorite smells judged purely by their scent alone. There are many others that I love for the smell and memories they evoke. But on fragrance alone, these are my favorites.

My 1st would have to be jasmine, it's such a strong sweet smell, and it seems to be even more so at night. It reminds me of long summer evenings.

My 2nd favorite smell is cut grass, specifically cut grass after the rain when it seems to be even more intense. Maybe it's a smell of my youth, but there is just something so pleasant and soothing about it.

Here's some other scents I love.

Horse manure. I know that could sound strange to some. But it smells rich and fertile and healthy to me. It reminds me of the vegetables my grandfather used to grow. Of the fields that we used to walk through when I was a kid. The farms we visited to pick fresh fruit by the lb. It's smells earthy and natural.

Pine trees, cinnamon, cloves, oranges. All of these smells remind me of Christmases past. The scent of the tree, the cakes, the pomanders my mother and I would make every year when I was a child. Both of us meticulously poking cloves into oranges in beautiful patterns then pinning colorful ribbons around; it would fragrance the whole house for most of the time the decorations were up.

So many people love the scent of cut grass, myself included, welcome to the club.
Thank you for your thoughtful comment, much appreciated.

What a delightful post @farm-mom. I confess that I too, absolutely LOVE the smell of sweet Basil, I like my Italian Oregano as well (I had no idea there were so many varieties of oregano, but I can cut the bloom tops of my plants [which helps them bush back out] and use them in salads, raw, which gives a most unUSUAL and delightful flavor)
I've always heard of Coriander and thought it had something to do with Celery Root, but I looked this up:

Coriander (/ˌkɒriˈændər, ˈkɒriændər/ Coriandrum sativum) is an annual herb in the family Apiaceae. It is also known as Chinese parsley, dhania or cilantro
All parts of the plant are edible, but the fresh leaves and the dried seeds (as a spice) are the parts most traditionally used in cooking.

Most people perceive the taste of coriander leaves as a tart, lemon/lime taste, but to nearly a quarter of those surveyed, the leaves taste like dish soap, linked to a gene which detects some specific aldehydesthat are also used as odorant substances in many soaps and detergents.

Now I highlighted this because in my highschool biology class, the teacher passed out little strips of paper with traces of "Phenolphthalein" (it was at the time the active ingredient in ExLax) about 1/3 of the class (including me) could taste a very bitter, acrid taste, the rest only tasted paper.
Most people thought Ex-Lax tasted like chocolate, but I could never stand it.

↑Upvoted↑ and ←Reblogged→


Good morning Jerry, hope all is well. I have oregano also, I just picked a bunch, ran it through the food processor, then froze it in ice trays. It's great to have on hand during the cold months adds so much flavor to my red sauce and it's healthy .
Thanks for that little science lesson, never too old to learn new stuff. I like the smell of coriander and love the cilantro in fresh salsa. Now that the tomatoes are ripening like crazy we are busy making salsa, as well as sauce to freeze and vacuum pack. It's always so busy here at the end of the summer, processing our veggies and herbs, preparing for the winter months.
Hope you are well, thanks for dropping by my friend, always a pleasure.

Hi Robin, I've been eating tomatoes nearly every day, plus having so many in the fridge, on the window ledges, some were beginning to go bad, so I went (twice now) to the trouble of blanching to remove the peels, (but without actually cooking them) dicing them roughly and freezing.
I've got two bags in my freezer, plus some cilantro (from the store) basil (from here) and celery (from the store) It is a lot of work for one person.

Good for you man, believe me I know it's a lot of work to process all the garden goodies but so worth the effort.