Women in Aviation-Something You Might Not Know...

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

According to "Women in Aviation," only 8.4% of all pilots are women (https://www.wai.org/resources/waistats)
image.png
Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/dS6OTHye8Pw

I never thought about this before taking my children to a Young Eagles event where trained and experienced pilots take children 8-18 up in a private airplane, most often for the child's first time. There were a couple female pilots and I have several daughters. They each got to fly with the private pilots and had a wonderful time.

As I contemplate what my girls will be when they "grow up," I want them to have success. I believe there is a lot of potential in the skies. In May 2020, the average salary for a commercial pilot was $93,300 (Source)

If you fly for a major airline, it can balloon up (see what I did there 😉) to hundreds of thousands per year. As an example, some major airlines pay up to and sometimes beyond $400/hour. I recently heard from some people I'm close to that one of the major airliners was paying triple time because they couldn't get enough pilots. Can you imagine a 4-hour flight making $4800? That's a good day!!!

A full-time job requires 2,080 hours of work per year. At $250/hour (a nice average major airline pilot wage), that's $520,000 in a year. Now you're talking doctor and lawyer money.

I have driven for Uber and Lyft when times were tough. I averaged about $18-$20/hour when you discounted the cost of gas at the time. I would gladly 'Uber Fly' people around for 10x that per hour.

So why are there so few gals in the sky? I think it is simply that they aren't aware that it is a job that's available. Tell someone you know. Spread the word!
image.png
Source

Sort:  

Hello @haveyaheard. Aviation for women sounds like a great career choice. With the education required, this is a viable path forward for women. Commitment and the time it takes to complete the training is key to any successful career. So one has to be certain it's what they want to do. Can women be successful in aviation? I'm certain they can. I just wonder what's the reason so few choose this type of career.

Thanks for sharing the information on women aviators. Take care.

My daughter is excited about it as a career choice. Even if she wants to have several kids in the future, she'd be able to be a certified flight instructor and make $60-$125/hour while raising the kiddos. That makes me happy for her! 😊

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

image.png

Thank you for coming and reading! I really appreciate you stopping by and hope to see you again soon ❤️

Congratulations @haveyaheard! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3