Follow Me (LoH 124)

in Ladies of Hivelast year (edited)

Doe: a deer, a female deer,
Ray: a drop of golden sun,
Me: a name I call myself,
Far: a long, long way to run,
Sew: a needle pulling thread,
La: a note to follow so(l)
Tea: a drink with jam and bread

One more time... follow me! Doe a deer a female deer... Dad sings comically while strumming his guitar and making funny faces and gestures that we would sing along and laugh too. He was teaching us the "Do Re Mi."

My old man was quite the teacher in our household and it was him who taught us a lot of things even the method of using our 10 fingers to solving our math homework. The thing about him teaching us was that he often added comedy so even if we were feeling lazy or confused, we would end up having fun.


Artem Beliaikin

I think the song above was the most common method of teaching kids to learn the basic musical notes back in my childhood and perhaps even now? But I don't seem to hear it these days though so there might be a new way or method for parents to teach their little ones.

I tried to teach my nieces imitating how I remembered Dad taught us when we were kids but they got really confused. It made me realize that the methods which worked quite well back then are no longer effective these days.


(Girl with Red Hat)

Another thing I remember was this mnemonic below in trying to memorize the number of days on the calendar months. It wasn't the verses that cracked me up but the way our first grade teacher, Mrs. B delivered them in class. Imagine a tiny woman with a voice so shrill it would grow goosies on your skin, lol!

Thirty days has September,
April, June, and November,
All the rest have thirty-one,
Save February at twenty-eight,
But leap year, coming once in four,
February then has one day more.

Guess my teacher's hilarious expressions really got into me that I never had to look at the calendar to check which months have 30 or 31 days.

I personally do not have any amusing ways to remember bits of information but these two stood to mind on reading the first question on this week's prompt.

08032023/09:50ph



Smile... laugh often... love more... be happy and grateful always!


Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jane1289 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That's indeed fun.
There's also another way of knowing which months have 30 or 31 days through our knuckles.. It was our teacher in caregiving who taught is..

Here...i got it from Wikipedia.

Knuckles for 31 days, in-betweens are 30 days hehe.. Except for Feb..

Oh, that's very interesting sis :) Never knew about this hehe. Thank you.

!LADY

It made me realize that the methods which worked quite well back then are no longer effective these days.

This already gives me something to research and a little bit of anxiety about how I will teach my son. hahah I am not really good at teaching stuff even though I am ready to give him some adventure. haha
!PIZZA !LOLZ

What do you call it when a chickpea kills someone?
Hummus-cide

Credit: reddit
@ifarmgirl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ekavieka

(3/4)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

I do believe you have the natural ability (father's instinct) to teach your little boy :) Remember to add fun into it, lol!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
ekavieka tipped ifarmgirl (x1)
@ifarmgirl(2/5) tipped @chikakiku (x1)
ifarmgirl tipped ekavieka (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Lol, I remember these rhymes, it's funny how we were learning things in a fun way but didn't realize how long it will stay with us, I can imagine that teacher, don't we all have such teachers at a time lol.

Oh, it's great you know them too! They do stick to the memory. I'm always reminded of that teacher even when passing by the school, lol!

!LADY

Ironically, I've been humming the Doe, Ray, Me song and now you've mentioned it here, lol! My husband always recites the calendar thingy as well. Ironically, I was never taught that one. They do work and very effectively. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!🤗💜 !LADY

What a coincidence, haha! Glad you know about it and your husband also does the calendar days. Thank you Elizabeth and have an awesome day :)

!LADY

Thank you! Take care!🤗💜

You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Haha I sang the moment I started reading! But yeah, the teaching method now was different compared to before. No more traditional teaching .

And sis, I could still have memories that day in a month! Would even recite it mentally if I wanted to know how many days in a week 🤣

Haha, that's good sis! Those things do stay with us even after decades! And true too, things are different now especially when everything's going digital. Kids can just go to YT themselves :D

!LADY

I never knew those mnemonics till now, maybe in province before we we're thought tagalog mnemonics which easy to understand. I think kids nowadays, doesn't seem to understand those mnemonics however, once repeatedly teach them make them sing it always then they will understand and apply it on daily life.

They were some of the traditional ways of teaching many years ago so it's understandable not many of today's generation would know about it hehe. And true, things have changed these days. Digital na lahat :D

!PIZZA

Well the method they used to taught us then is not effective again because the children of now a days are more into digital.

That method of knowing the calendar is what I can never forget. We don't need to check the calendar to know the days in each month.

True that :) Kids nowadays have their own fun ways of doing and remembering things. Glad to know you also learn about the calendar verses :) A fun way to remember them.
!LADY

It really the best way to remembered the calendar with the verse

You're taking us back down memory lane... You're right..I've even forgotten the poem myself. Thanks for the reminder..lolz

Thank you :) Good times they were.
!LOLZ

Where did Phil Collins record all his songs?
In the Stu-Stu-Studio

Credit: reddit
@vic2ryx, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ifarmgirl

(1/4)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

With things like AI, Google at the disposal of kids and the new ways in which they are taught in school I don't think the old method would still work on them most teachers have forgotten the old methods or not longer using it due to the new era or civilization happening but whatever it is I love the way they restarted and I remember every single notes it was very fun and easy to learn things back then because singing just helps things stick to your brain easily

You are right about the more advanced methods that kids use nowadays. It would be cool if some still use the traditional ways and see how children react to them hehe.

Glad you also find it fun and easy to learn things before :)
!LADY

I could not think of a single mnemonic device to write about, but I actually use your do, re, me one all the time! lol

To remember how many days in a month, I use my knuckles. Maybe I'll write another post for this contest after all.

Nice post!

It's nice that you also use Do Re Mi :) It's a great tune to hum along any time of day.

Thank you lots and I look forward to reading your post :)
!LADY

Hehe, sis! I used to recite those rhymes at school in English class to learn how many days had the months of the year, haha
And the do re mi song, I know it by heart, lol

!LUV
!LOLZ

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@ifarmgirl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @coquicoin

(1/4)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Looks like we do have some more things in common, sis! hehe :) The Do Re Mi song makes me wanna hop and hop while I sing the verse, lol!

!LUV