You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March 8th International Women's Day: The socio-economic impact of Covid-19 on women and narcissistic abuse

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

You are a courageous soul! Your story is touching and an ideal one for every woman to read on this occasion of Women's day.

Over here in Nigeria, when the pandemic struck last year, a lot of employees lost their jobs. It was worse for the womenfolk. I still remember some mothers who took to the streets with their children to beg for money. It was a hard time. Some went door to door to ask for something or anything to feed their children with.

I work in the judicial sector and my employer had to close the office for as long as the lockdown was in effect. I have a side business I do and I used the lockdown to give it my full attention. I can say things are a bit improved this year, but then I can only speak for myself.

We'll still keep the hope alive that things will get better. Thank you for sharing your story and life lessons with us. 🙂🍀

Sort:  

I'm glad it has impacted you in a positive way or at least not too negatively, I'm at a point in my life where I can weather a few bumps but I try imagining what if I had been trying to get away in a time like this.

I had seen the studies out of Canada and I wasn't prepared for the results. My next thought was women in developing economies must be way more impacted. It's sad the reality it is causing for some along with irreparable damage across multiple generations. Across the world seem to be the same trend of women being the sole earners for their families being far more impacted than any one else. Thanks for stopping by!