You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Purple” original Gouache Painting and airbrushed clouds artwork. The 5 steps how I created it 🦋😊

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Thank you so much @borjan 😎 hahaha most of my artworks do. I shared quite a few in my posts already and people think they are photos just by glaring at it. But when they open the posts and see all my steps of how I created the artwork they know it isn’t 😇🤓 I don’t mind, I think it is a compliment 😉 I am a realistic painter also my drawings. That is why I always take many photos… for reference purposes and to see details. I love details… they are the only way to create a realistic artwork.

Sort:  

Yes 🙂 that is definitively meant as a compliment. When it leans towards realism, it's great to see that realism is achieved. Yes, the details in your work are great. And they don't look like too many details, because everything is put together harmoniously. From a distance, you see a fragment of reality, and then up close you see the structures, the textures, and all those cool details.

Thank you @borjan 😊 that is nice to hear.
I do have a few artists friends that are very realistic in their artworks and they are offended when people say just that. (That is why I wrote the above 😉)

Hehehe 😃 Sounds funny, but I understand them. In some circles, realism is regarded as something shallow that is better not to do if you are doing art nowadays. When I was in art school in the early 90', some professors were snubbing the realism full time. And funny thing, they admired the realism in the history of visual arts, but contemporary realism couldn't be good or interesting for them. Realism was ok only in museums. I disagree, of course. There are many kinds of artistic expressions all around us, and art can be interesting for many quite different, or opposite reasons. For me, if something looks good and is skillfully made, it's great. Not everything needs to be revolutionary, disruptive, never seen, or experimental. I like the other stuff that is far from realism. But realism is also cool.

I know, the art critics and museums don’t want any realistic art works nowadays… let alone airbrush works. Or a combination of mixed media/techniques. That is what I started my art with, airbrushing… nowadays I combine my techniques and mediums to create what I would like.

I disagree too. People are all different and what they like. So everybody can express however they want. Show what they like even though others don’t like it.

I tried to paint abstract or more fantasy like, but it’s not for me. Just can’t do it. Hahaha My works are closer to the realistic realm. Although my last drawing is different. It is thought provoking… I included fantasy in it to depict my thought and feelings, I will show that in the future. Need to grow a little bit more here on hive, before I show my current way of painting and drawing. (My last works)

I do love all genres in art, and look up to many masters in the past and present.