“Purple” original Gouache Painting and airbrushed clouds artwork. The 5 steps how I created it 🦋😊

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Hi all 😊

I wanted to share with you today my Gouache painting of a butterfly on some Agapanthus Flowers and show you the progress steps / step by steps of how I created it. (SBS)

09052012goed_naam.jpg
Title: ”Purple”

I finished this painting 05-2012 and it is one of my earlier Artworks.
I started my art in 2011, I am self taught. I love to share my progress steps of my artworks with you all and the world. 😊

This original painting is sold to one of my collectors and found its home in Devon, England.

I do have all kind of prints from this painting available, on different objects, if you would like a print from it have a look In My PrintShop!

~The Dimensions are 23 x 40 cm / 9.1 x 15.7 inch
~Underground is a mount-board.
~Gouache paints I am using are from Dahler Rowney and Winsor and Newton.
~reference photo used with permission from Cynthia Mattiuz Ashley.
~It depicts a butterfly on Agapanthus Flowers. 🦋

This painting/the subjects are painted with the normal brushes and gouache paint. The background/clouds I airbrushed with my airbrush gun and white gouache paint. I did add some blue with the airbrush on one side to give the sky a gradient flow in the blue.

Step 1
060520121918.jpg
Here you see I sketched in the main lines of the subjects. The flowers and butterfly. I started the background with the airbrush and added with white paint the clouds over the sketch. Then I painted with the normal brush and gouache paint the butterfly. So the subjects: butterfly and flowers will go on top of the clouds. By doing this I create a lot of depth.

Step 2
070520121921.jpg
I started painting the stems of the flowers.

Step 3
070520121928.jpg
Here I started with the flower buds and leaves.

Step 4 detail
080520121941.jpg
More progress and a detailed photo of the intricate details, to show you how many shades of purple and blue I use throughout the flowers. To bring every tiny flower to life, give it depth.

Step 4
080520121943.jpg
The full painting.

Step 5 finished painting
09052012goed.jpg
Here you can see the finished painting.

As it was traveling overseas it needed to be packed well and the collector and I decided to ship it without its glass in the frame.
(Framed Painting while it arrived at my collectors home.)
069fa19d_96e0_456b_8fae_058a3a1a5dba.jpeg

On my collectors wall in the office.
d64e4056_0266_45e1_be24_f8b6aae594f2.jpeg

I do love it when collectors send me a photo from my artworks hanging up on their walls. 🥰 Artists do you too? Do you ask for it or just hope they do?

Thank you for looking and reading. I hope you enjoyed my Step by Step of this butterfly on some Agapanthus Flowers painting. 🦋😊

With my future new artworks, I will make a more detailed step by step for you, maybe even videos.

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.😊 And talk about art.

Have a great day all 😎👋🏻
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble. 😉

Sort:  

Wow, this is such a beautiful piece to behold. Lovely piece of art you drew

Thank you so much @vickoly 😊

You're welcome, have a blessed day.

And you too ☀️🦋

just a great drawing! I'm amazed you're self-taught 😮

Thank you so much @tali72 😊🐝 that is nice to hear.
Have a great weekend! ☀️

Wow. This is so good. I have a set of gouache and I never managed to get anything I liked the look of. I might try again now.

Thank you so much @hilbyguy 😊
Yes, please try… I love this medium. Especially that you can reactivate it with water on your surface. You can push it around. Use the underlaying layers to blend if you wish. Even use it like watercolours or opaque like acrylics. I like the silkiness of how it looks after drying.
I made a few other paintings with gouache. You can find them in my posts, if you need more inspiration 😎
Any questions, let me know. Happy to help.

I love the angle you have painted in and the colours
It's very pretty <33

Thank you so much @kaerpediem 😊 I love unusual things.

A delightful work of art!

Thank you so much @kerrislravenhill 😊

Excellent work! The airbrush effect is subtle and beautiful. Working with an airbrush isn't easy but you nailed it. The white frame goes so well with the artwork too.

Thank you so much @discoveringarni 😊 I love working with my airbrush gun. I started my art in 2011 with airbrushing. After that I only started drawing and later painting. Now I combine the techniques and mediums most of the time.

I still have the airbrush pen but I don't have the compressor anymore. I just used it briefly in school, messy dirty hands 😊 That was 2 decades ago. I wonder if the compressors are much quieter than they used to be. It's nicely combined with Gouache.

That’s a while ago @discoveringarni.
Yes, the compressors are different now. The ones used by airbrush artists /professionals are silent compressors. Mine is from Harder & Steenbeck, Made in Germany EURO-TEC-20A and only 38 dB.
So it’s fine working with it. 😎

Haha, I'm getting old. Ooh, silent sounds cool.

Me too… school was way back in 2000 😉hahaha
If you ever need more information on airbrushing and the equipment, let me know. Happy to help.

I thought it was a photo before opening the post and seeing it bigger. 😃 It looks great.

Thank you so much @borjan 😎 hahaha most of my artworks do. I shared quite a few in my posts already and people think they are photos just by glaring at it. But when they open the posts and see all my steps of how I created the artwork they know it isn’t 😇🤓 I don’t mind, I think it is a compliment 😉 I am a realistic painter also my drawings. That is why I always take many photos… for reference purposes and to see details. I love details… they are the only way to create a realistic artwork.

Yes 🙂 that is definitively meant as a compliment. When it leans towards realism, it's great to see that realism is achieved. Yes, the details in your work are great. And they don't look like too many details, because everything is put together harmoniously. From a distance, you see a fragment of reality, and then up close you see the structures, the textures, and all those cool details.

Thank you @borjan 😊 that is nice to hear.
I do have a few artists friends that are very realistic in their artworks and they are offended when people say just that. (That is why I wrote the above 😉)

Hehehe 😃 Sounds funny, but I understand them. In some circles, realism is regarded as something shallow that is better not to do if you are doing art nowadays. When I was in art school in the early 90', some professors were snubbing the realism full time. And funny thing, they admired the realism in the history of visual arts, but contemporary realism couldn't be good or interesting for them. Realism was ok only in museums. I disagree, of course. There are many kinds of artistic expressions all around us, and art can be interesting for many quite different, or opposite reasons. For me, if something looks good and is skillfully made, it's great. Not everything needs to be revolutionary, disruptive, never seen, or experimental. I like the other stuff that is far from realism. But realism is also cool.

I know, the art critics and museums don’t want any realistic art works nowadays… let alone airbrush works. Or a combination of mixed media/techniques. That is what I started my art with, airbrushing… nowadays I combine my techniques and mediums to create what I would like.

I disagree too. People are all different and what they like. So everybody can express however they want. Show what they like even though others don’t like it.

I tried to paint abstract or more fantasy like, but it’s not for me. Just can’t do it. Hahaha My works are closer to the realistic realm. Although my last drawing is different. It is thought provoking… I included fantasy in it to depict my thought and feelings, I will show that in the future. Need to grow a little bit more here on hive, before I show my current way of painting and drawing. (My last works)

I do love all genres in art, and look up to many masters in the past and present.

It is very pretty, @littlebee4!
Taken from below!
(I wouldn't ask you how much your painting sells for.
Hehehe 😍)

Thank you so much @silversaver888 😊
This is one of my earlier works, not so much time involved, not big and not so detailed, so it wasn’t more than €150,- included frame and mount board. 😉
Still have earlier works… and prints of my artworks in My printshop
Some originals are priced too… others on request.

I'll go visit!!!
BRB~~~

Is The Hunter... is that an Eagle, a Bald Eagle?

The Hunter is a black kite @silversaver888 😊

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

image.png

Thank you so much @ladiesofhive for the support 😊 much appreciated

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @kaerpediem & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so much @kaerpediem and @diyhub for the support much appreciated 😊🐝