Hive Community Spotlight #5: Interview with @bluefinstudios

in Ladies of Hive2 months ago

image.png

20% of this post reward goes to the interviewee!

Welcome dear friends to #5 of the hive community spotlight! In this edition, we have the pleasure and honor to interview the remarkable @bluefinstudios!
Today we will be learning about his journey on hive, how he got started and the cool gardening and sailing stuff he's into. You'll also learn about his story and what inspires him to help others on the platform. and much more things about him. Just stay tuned and keep reading!

Read his own words below:

Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your journey on the Hive platform? How did you first discover Hive, and what motivated you to become an active member of the community?

I found a community online, long before Steemit (and later HIVE) where I met @thekittygirl. Later on, she brought me to The Steemit Platform, long before the code split, long before the crazy Justin Sun days. As he found out when he attempted to take over the code, the greater community platform is much more than some lines of software. The real strength of the online community was its people. And Sense of purpose.

I became a part of the Town Halls and the actions to maintain the integrity of the core blockchain technology: a distributed, decentralized non-owner blockchain. No one entity owns the chain. When the largest witnesses and players gathers, and fought the takeover, the software was split off. I left Steemit (and Justin Sun) and moved with the key owners and stakeholders, to HIVE.

You've been on Hive for about 6 or 7 years now. What have been some of the most memorable moments or experiences you've had during your time here?

Obviously, first was finding the place. I thank TheKittygirl for that. From there, she introduced me to @shadowspub. Shadows ran a community called The Ramble. At the time, it was one of most independent communities. Not beholden to any one group, it was a place where many of the major players would often stop in and have meetings of sorts. It was where many of the different players met to have town hall meetings and conversations about the big split. On Thursdays, in those days, she ran a show called PYPT (Pimp Your Post Thursday). Once in the am, once hours later. The purpose was for ANYONE on the chain, to come by, listen, drop a link with a post you enjoyed reading or that you wrote. The time was spent chatting about the different posts. It was a way for many of us to share and support each other, in those early days. From PYPT, I met @dreemsteem. I became part of many of her projects.

You've been very supportive of projects like PYPT and DreemPort. Can you share with us what drew you to these projects and why you chose to support them?

In my real life, I have always been about helping others, mentoring, and passing along what I knew, to others coming along after me. One of Dreemsteem’s earlier projects was called WELCOME WAGON. We noticed, that many people would come to Hive, hearing of the great opportunities, and leave disappointed. Thing is, no one told them that you can’t simply write a post and expect to become the HUGE popular and successful author/writer. It actually takes hard work. And Welcome Wagon helped newbies, by teaching them what to expect on hive, How to find their way. Learn to sue the inner working off Hive. Learn to find “your people” who would support you, and for you to support them. Learn to find a community. THAT brings success.

As someone who has been involved in several projects to help newbies learn, what advice would you give to newcomers joining the Hive community?

“Nothing is easy” Simply put, you need to put in as much time as you can to find your community. If you are an amazing photographer, you can’t simple pop a post into Hive and expect huge rewards. An Amazing short fiction writer? Or Musician? All newbies need to find some place, some community that can be their “home” online. Find like minded. Find posts form similarly minded, and comment on them. Make it real, genuine comments. Make sure you are really interacting. The more that you spend time interacting, the more followers you will find for your own content. It takes time.

I understand you're an avid gardener. Can you tell us more about your passion for gardening and how it influences your life both on and off the Hive platform?

I am many things! LOL… one is father to two amazing daughters. One is Passionate Writer. One is Photographer.

And as many know, I am a gardener. I learned as a youngster from my Papou, (Greek for Grandfather). Later, from my mom, too. I have always had some sort of garden. During the pandemic, and the crisis with food and supplies, I went BIG on gardening. I am trying to grow more and more food for my own family and friends. I’d like to get to be much more self sufficient.

Before, I spoke of finding a community of like minded on Hive. I have found quite a few Gardening communities, as well as Photography Communities. As for offline, I am not quite self sufficient yet. Yet! (But getting closer each year)

Could you share some insights into your role as part of the leadership team for DreemPort? What goals and initiatives are you currently focused on within the DreemPort community?

I’ve been a partner with Dreemsteem’s Dreemport from early on. In some ways, it grew from a few initiatives on many platforms we’ve been on together. It is a natural progression from Welcome Wagon, to other initiatives, to Dreemport. As part of the Admin team, I am focused on some of the discord projects, as well as some of the community challenges monthly. I have some roles and duties that are behind the scenes and need a weee tiny bit of anonymity. Sorry, not trying to be sneaky, but sometimes pirates need some secrets! LOL

How do you balance your various interests and responsibilities within the Hive community with your personal life and hobbies?

Balance??? Hmmm??? Let me go Google Balance and see what that means? I am not sure… I’ve mentioned a few hobbies and passions of mine. In many ways Hive is simply an extension of each hobby. It’s where I tend to report out, or blog about my hobbies. Its really an integral part fo the hobby itself.

Looking ahead, what are your hopes and aspirations for the future, both personally and within the context of your involvement in the Hive ecosystem?

I have one really deep desire in my later years… Many have seen me write about and post about Blue’s Dream. My passion for the ocean is something I haven’t written about, however it is deeply ingrained in my heart and soul. I love the sea. I grew around it, near it and on it. I have been on boots all my life. Tiny, big, and in between. I’ve written about my time on the ocean. Some of my fiction is about the ocean. One of my biggest aspirations is to progressively learn bigger and longer trips on the seas. I’d like my next boat to be able to go places and stay for a weekend on board the boat. Next, a week, then two. At some point I’d like to upgrade again and spend a summer aboard, living on my boat. I’d set sail and try the entire East Coast US. And finally? Bleu’s Dream.

Cutting ties to the land, and living full time on my boat. Set sail for the Everywhere!

I’d love to return to Alaska aboard my Dream. Love to See Galapagos. The Boat I have in my Dream, is a Nordhavn. Its a long distance explorer motor trawler. Able to live aboard full time. Make my own water. Live comfortably with up to 6. Travel across both the Atlantic or Pacific. Essentially go any where and see the world. As I have done with my other hobbies and lifestyle, I see Hive being my community, where I stay in touch. It will keep me “grounded” with my friends, family and of course, the Dreamers in DreemPort.

Thank you @bluefinstudios, indeed the true essence of community lies in supporting one another, pursuing our passions, and dreaming big. You have such beautiful dreams I hope you can achieve everything your heart desires! Thank you so much for the honor of this interview!


Are you also inspired by bluefin's journey and passion for hive and life? Then do well to follow his account! You can also connect with him on his posts and on discord!

Stay tuned for next week and discover another amazing user on hive and what is behind their zeal and resilience. Thank you for your time here, I hope you learnt something here.

Your suggestions will also be appreciated in the comments.

Who else do you want to be featured here?

Let me know in the comments! See you in the next edition!!!

Previous Editions


Community spotlight introduced

Hive community spotlight #1. Premiere with @thekittygirl 🌟

Community spotlight #2 Featuring @shadowspub

Community Spotlight #3: Interview with Dreemsteem

Community Spotlight #4: Interview with Juliakponsford-aka-alien-honey
20240216_144220.jpg

image.png

Sort:  

thank you. I am so happy you allowed me to participate!

It was my honor 🤗

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @madilyn02 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I love that you interviewed Blue!!!! He has been a huge part of my life for the last 7 years - and I can't imagine what life would have been like without us being connected!!

You did a wonderful job - as always - interviewing! heheheh

You have wonderful people around you 🤗, Blue is a great person and nice to talk to, I'm also glad I interviewed him! 💜

This is fabulous! @bluefinstudios has added so much value to the communities on our blockchain, we are very fortunate to have him here with us! 💙

You're so right, I was happy to interview him 💜