Ladies of Hive Community Contest #130 - The Stories that I will never forget

Here is my response to the weekly @LadiesofHive - Contest - Ladies of Hive Community Contest #130, which this week brings 2 questions
1️⃣ Have you ever read a poem or story that made your heart stop,
as you could swear it could be about YOU?
~ 𝐀𝐍𝐃 / 𝐎𝐑 ~
2️⃣ What would be your weapon of choice in a zombie apocalypse?
I will answer the first one


This is a story that has made a very deep and profound impact on me. There is an Indian Spiritual Guru Ruzbeh Bharucha's book "Shadows in Cages". This one is about stories of women and children in Indian jails. This is not fiction, this is real. The writer has visited the prison and spoken to the inmates there and got their stories of miseries and sorrows and what their children also go through. How poorly they are treated and are kept in such inhuman conditions. The children are kept in remand homes and their life is equally shattered. If the females are pregnant while they are in the jail, they are allowed to keep their children till the age of 6 and after that they are shifted to remand homes, if there is no one to take care of them.
And then these women may never see their children again or see them once they are out if they manage to find them. The condition of the remand homes is filthy and children have no good environment to grow up in.

image.png
Source

This book has affected me very deeply. I was feeling like the story of those children was my own story. Because as a child I also had a broken home and I was sent away far from home and lived in not very good conditions. But this one was way beyond that.

After reading this book, I made it a point to do something for these children, and somehow, I managed to contact the author of this book to get some more information on how can I go ahead with it. I told him my intentions and he gave me some leads. But he told me, it is never going to be easy because there is lot of bureaucracy in the systems. With a lot of running around and struggle I managed to find one NGO who could help me and from there on I started visiting children's remand homes and spending my time with them and doing whatever was in my capacity. And it also became my long-term mission to help these children. Though in the last 8 years that I have moved out of India, my activities have slowed down a lot but when I go back, I will soon start it again and carry on with my work.


While I am writing this, I cannot stop at one, there is one thing that deeply shakes me up and that is thinking that what if I would be born in regions of War, Violence and Terrorism. Regions like Iraq, Syria, Afghanistan. It gives me shivers to even think of it, what it would be like living under these influences all the time in these regions. This is very long back that I had read this book called A Thousand Splendid Suns. It's quite some time back, but I remember this story very well and whenever I think of it, I feel so blessed for my life. Just to even think, what if I would be in this place also takes my breath away.

image.png
Source

This is a story of a woman in Afghanistan who is forced to marry at the age of 15 to a man who is 25 years older to her and then her ordeal starts, it's not only about that after 20 years her husband marries a girl who is 20 years younger to Mariam. The younger girl Laila is an educated girl but under some miserable circumstances she has to get married to him. Rashed the man is a very pathetic husband, he treats his wives like slaves and is very abusive to them. Laila, the second wife, has 2 kids with him. They try to run away from him and get caught and there is horror that strikes on them. In the end Mariam is left with no choice but to kill Rashed and then she is sentenced to death. She also helps Laila to flee away to another country with her children. It's a story of endurance, fighting for rights and the women empathy towards each other.

Though this story is fictional, what it talks about is in the places where actually these kinds of situations are happening and women are suffering under the cruelty of the male dominant society. I have cried while reading this story, it is a very emotional one.


Some stories go a long way with us in our lives. They teach us some most valuable life lessons and make us appreciate what we have in life. There is so much cruelty in the world and so much pain and only Love can heal it. We need to spread Love all around us, we need to be more understanding towards each other, we need to empathize and connect with each other. As very rightly said, we are all connected in the Universe.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



Sort:  

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest!

037

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 13.52% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Congratulations @nainaztengra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

That was a very moving and interesting story. I am from America and often wonder how I got so lucky to be born in the USA. We to have too much much hate around us but I strive to love others, to forgive and be
a good example to my children.
May you be blessed today and everyday.

We have so much on our platter that we cannot even imagine what it is like being in such places. I too feel that my life is so much full of blessings that I do not even realize.
Thank you for your good wishes @farm-mom

What a beautiful story. This book had a great impact. Jail and the lives of others. It is a difficult time. Hopefully those who decided to be criminals can open their eyes. It changes your life completely. I like your review. Hug 🤗

Absolutely, it is a time of redemption. But the sad part is that there are so many other involved in the life of the criminals who also have to go through the trauma equally.

Yes, and for those who have served their sentence. They are released and decide to ask for economic assistance. Here sometimes they are denied employment. For having a criminal record. Young people do not see the consequences. They live the experience and the youth change until they are older adults.😕

image.png

There is a song that says that you have to be very lucky to be born, it is painful to think that the circumstances of birth puts children from all over the world in different conditions, some suffer too much for the context where they are born, they are innocent of everything just had the bad luck to be born in a difficult situation 😔.

Thank you for your dedication to the children who go through detention centers.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@irenenavarroart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nainaztengra and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/12 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

It brings tears to me seeing children suffer with no fault of theirs. And in such times I do feel that God is so ruthless with them to put them through these situations and pain. But again looking at the larger picture of the life, we are all weaved into each other's karma and in that paying off our own karma.