You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BREAKING THE MOULD - hobby #71

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

I love this post! I had a similar experience in home ec. My mother was a home ec teacher (never mine) and had taught me very well how to sew and cook, at home. So I knew what I was doing, her ways. My own home ec teacher had other ways, which I was forever screwing up. Her method to sew a facing down I could not do (I was making my own suits by then, very difficult stuff), I got a terrible grade on it, and I remember that being one of the many times my mother said "I am embarrassed" to me. Speaking of cans, I didn't even make canned tomato soup properly, because I put the milk and the water in the pot in the incorrect order (knowing full well the order did not matter), not the order they were listed on the can's directions!

The things I remember!

hahaha this post made me lol, especially this:

All photos are my own - all animals are my own - and no family members were forced to eat out of a can in the making of this post (despite a retired teacher's dire expectations)

Sort:  

Oh yay! It was much longer. I got a bit carried away with the humour side.....and then realized that anyone reading may skip the entire post because of the length. In fact part of it was about the fire works between my mom and I. She could never teach me these skills because she did not have the patients for it and our combined efforts could fuel a Guy Fawkes! But I'm happy this gave you a chuckle. And that you also relate. Your home ec efforts sound like mine. Mac and cheese was my first (DISASTEROUS) dish. I think my teacher is still traumatised if someone offers that meal to her