BREAKING THE MOULD - hobby #71

IMG_0082 (4).JPG

Smoke belched out amid cries of alarm. "Young lady!" The look of despair on the old spinsters face was palpable "Your future husband has my full sympathy" She glared deliberately over her steamed spectacles as she tossed the burnt offering into the trash; "Because your skills do not lie in home industry! You will successfully burn his coffee and iron holes in his suits! I certainly hope his love for you will compensate for your lack in housekeeping!" So ended my school career in Home Economics. I hate fortune telling. I would show that miserable old teacher. Just not in her classroom.

IMG_0002 (34).JPG

My aunt is a professional seamstress. I didn't plan on sewing a wedding dress but I asked her for help. She threw me in the deep end with sewing but I learned fast and I loved sewing! The rest, as they say, is history. What happened in my final high school year is rather a blur. Exams. Exams. Exams. And that underlying pressure; What NEXT?!!!

Goshna 521.jpg

Before I knew it I was cutting my own patterns, sewing lacey lingerie, winter jackets, children's shoes and cloth diapers .... and yes, wedding dresses.

Goshna 444.JPG

Fast forward a couple decades and my sewing hobby became a business while I simultaneously opened my health restaurant. Because - while I became good at sewing, I also learned how to cook! And more than just cooking; specializing in delicious and easy to make foods for those with food allergies.

Buckaroo Baby 2016-11-09 001.JPG

Sometimes I think about that old Home Economics teacher. I wish I could thank her. Her negativity had the opposite affect to that intended. It fueled my determination. In fact it has stood me in good stead over the hard years when my hobbies have out of necessity made an income. How have hobbies featured in your life? This was an interesting question posed by Ladies of Hive Hobby Contest

Perhaps our local Ranger Andy can entertain us with her own trip down hobby lane @andrastia?

All photos are my own - all animals are my own - and no family members were forced to eat out of a can in the making of this post (despite a retired teacher's dire expectations)

IMG_0078 (6).JPG

Sort:  

I love this post! I had a similar experience in home ec. My mother was a home ec teacher (never mine) and had taught me very well how to sew and cook, at home. So I knew what I was doing, her ways. My own home ec teacher had other ways, which I was forever screwing up. Her method to sew a facing down I could not do (I was making my own suits by then, very difficult stuff), I got a terrible grade on it, and I remember that being one of the many times my mother said "I am embarrassed" to me. Speaking of cans, I didn't even make canned tomato soup properly, because I put the milk and the water in the pot in the incorrect order (knowing full well the order did not matter), not the order they were listed on the can's directions!

The things I remember!

hahaha this post made me lol, especially this:

All photos are my own - all animals are my own - and no family members were forced to eat out of a can in the making of this post (despite a retired teacher's dire expectations)

Oh yay! It was much longer. I got a bit carried away with the humour side.....and then realized that anyone reading may skip the entire post because of the length. In fact part of it was about the fire works between my mom and I. She could never teach me these skills because she did not have the patients for it and our combined efforts could fuel a Guy Fawkes! But I'm happy this gave you a chuckle. And that you also relate. Your home ec efforts sound like mine. Mac and cheese was my first (DISASTEROUS) dish. I think my teacher is still traumatised if someone offers that meal to her

It's always nice when you exceed those kinds of expectations! If she could only see you now!

I didn't care for Home Economics class much, it had such a herd mentality, we all had to do it at the same time, never minding how far or behind the other teams were. I am happy you found your way, but, I have an idea it was more to do with doing it your way and learning by loving examples.

I love sewing too and never realized it until I did something that meant a lot to me.

Wonderful story where I always learn something. ❤️

If only! She would probably think I'm my twin! I probably gave the poor woman nightmares. But you're correct Denise, about herd mentality. It also gives that housewife impression a bad reputation. Which I hate. I believe a woman should be able to care for her home and family. Doesn't mean she can't do other things she loves or have a career.

It's wonderful that you also sew. I'm thinking of giving some homeschooling lessons because so few women these days have the basic sewing skills.

Wow... a sewing business and a restaurant!
That's turning something you love to do into money.
Thanks for sharing your hobbies (and successes) @buckaroobaby.
Good luck with the contest.

Thank you @silversaver888! It is so important to love what you do - and the best type of job is one that you are passionate about

You've had it made, @buckaroobaby!
Many work till they become old, hating their jobs... how sad.
They pursue careers without passion!
Are you surprise that excellence is lacking in their work?

You are full of surprises!
I wish I could come to your sewing lessons!
And a health restaurant??? You are a wonder woman!

Thanks for the compliment. I guess there's just so much that I want to do, or know how to do. And I love making things. I also love helping people help themselves (which was the purpose of the health restaurant)

Truly amazing the concept of the health restaurant!
@buckaroobaby you are a treasure! And certainly a generous giver!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hey @buckaroobaby what a wonderful walk down hobby lane, I absolutely love that you turned that nasty teacher's negativity around and it fuelled you, that's the best kind of revenge reaction.

I had a chuckle at the baked beans too, I'm sure that everyone has had those moments, I know we have, but the can of baked beans would probably be a pack of Maggi 2 minute noodles lol.

I will most definitely post about my hobbies and what I've done with them through the years. What a cool topic. Thanks bud

You know, I probably would've put the two minute noodles in there except that I haven't had them for years. Tinned beans however. Good doomsday food ;)

I do agree with you there! You can never really have enough doomsday food especially with our current world events. Koo to the Moo (n)

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I love how you turned things around from sheer determination and made a success of your skills! Also love that line about no one having to eat from a can! 😁 Thanks for sharing and entering the weekly contest! 😊
image.png

Happy to have entertained by my rather amusing memories. Thank you for taking the time to make your sweet comment @thekittygirl

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you so much!