And now... we wait

I did the whole job application thing again.

Playfulfoodie

I'm at that stage where I am starting to feel like I want a job again, but I'm not completely feeling it yet, so I allow myself to be really picky and really honest in my applications.

I found two job openings in the area, cycling distance, which aren't really all that, so I was thinking of just writing a very honest application about my needs and shortcomings in their field. One was for application management, which I don't really want. I want to be a functional manager, which, honestly, is kinda the same thing, depending on who you ask. I was going to be really honest about not wanting the technical crap, but wanting to focus more on processes and users. They need two people and have needed two people for a couple of months now, so I figured I might stand a chance. I didn't write to them yet though. Another one was for a functional manager, but it read like a very frustrating and tough job in a financial field. Yuck! So I didn't write to them either.

Then, I found a job opening a little further away, but in the same city as hubby, so we can carpool. Maybe use a folding bike. It's a job in municipal youth health care and although I don't have experience in that exact area, I did enjoy my times in other health care organisations. It's just a different kinda vibe than a financial business. It's an opening for a functional manager, 24 hours a week. Perfect! Sooooo, I wrote a good and honest application and send it in!

The job only just got posted, so I now have to wait two weeks until it closes and they decide who to invite for an interview. This is a job I can actually see myself do, so I'm a little frustrated I have to wait so long. Can't be helped though, so it's a good thing the weather forcasts are good. My garden can help me get through. Lots to do!

I don't like writing about this one, because I actually want the job and I might have to come back to it and write a disappointment post two weeks later. I have faith in my CV and letter though, so it all comes down to my competition. 'They' say it's hard to find good people these days, but I haven't noticed this yet.

Hubby and I are already talking about how fun it would be to carpool to and from work and how it's so close to city center, we can very easily go out for dinner after work sometime too! So... the side benefits are pretty nice! Oh well, I'm trying not to get ahead of myself and just wait and see if they want to speak with me.

Wish me luck!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

Sort:  

It might end in disappointment BUT it might end up as the opening of a whole new chapter. That you started it honestly and with a real feeling of want is everything. There is purity in intention that I think employers can feel.

Good luck!!

Thank you 😊

Let us cross our fingers (and toes) that you get the job, @playfulfoodie!
Thanks for sharing.
BTW, what is a Functional Manager?

Thank you!

BTW, what is a Functional Manager?

I thought that would translate badly 😅
It's a job kinda inbetween the business and IT, where you collect business and user wishes, write down and improve processes and make a good translation to IT solutions. For some companies, that's the most of it, for others, you'll implement the changes in the applications aswell and usually there's a bit of user support and such.

Ahhhh...
You see, I am a Climate Director.

It's a job in municipal youth health care and although I don't have experience in that exact area, I did enjoy my times in other health care organisations. It's just a different kinda vibe than a financial business. It's an opening for a functional manager, 24 hours a week. Perfect! Sooooo, I wrote a good and honest application and send it in!

I wish good luck and all the best with it. Hopefully they will employ you, and you will get a proper salary and appreciation, including good work environment.

Nowadays I work in a four hours per day packaging part time job, but even if I combine the salary of this job, and my pension-like income (for my multiple disabilities), my total income still does not reach the local minimum wage.

By the way, two weeks is not really a long time. I waited more for my current job. There were so much paperwork about my multiple disabilities.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

the waiting is soooo...

...but for what it's worth - all's well that ends well!

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token1 for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.