Stubborn like Ox: Weekly Contest

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Hi Ladies of Hive! Hope you are all doing well! Here is my contribution to the weekly contest. It wasn't a hard choice for me to think about what to choose: I definitely went with: What is one thing you do not understand about yourself?

image.png

As a picture and title say more than a thousand words, you might be guessing now that I am really, really really stubborn. I like how in English the expression is ' Stubborn like ox', but in the Netherlands we say: stubborn like a donkey haha. Well anyway, that is me and it baffles me sometimes, why am I this stubborn? And what do I gain from being this stubborn?

Let's start at the beginning

Back when Pauline (that's me!) was still a little Paulinetje I was stubborn as could be already. Apparently as a child I refused to wear the color pink and would squirm my way out of any pink clothes. Also my mother tells me that since I was a baby I refused to eat certain foods and when left at the table by my exasperated mother who would leave me there with the words: ' you can't leave the table until it's finished!' I would still be sitting there hours later stubbornly refusing to eat my now cold food. This picture is me at one of those endless table sessions haha:
image.png

But wait, it gets worse!

So you are now already thinking why the hell would you spend all that time just bothering yourself really? What did you gain from it? But it gets even worse! Because I will remain stubborn even when I know I am wrong! Crazy right? Oh and I would get really cranky too. I found this hilarious photo of grumpy me because I didn't want a photo taken of me.
image.png

Now you think, well all kids can be like that. But I am afraid not all has changed. I ended up in a long discussion last week with my boyfriend about a large construction crane that has been posted outside our flat for a couple of months now. The discussion? Which way the crane was facing that day..... To save you the whole discussion: I was wrong. He was right. But I still have not been able to admit this to him! Why? Why am I like this? I think it might always remain a mystery....
image.png

What about you? What about yourself do you not understand?

I have really enjoyed making this post! Thanks @silversaver888 and @joanstewart for the input! I would love to invite @playfulfoodie to come check out our community here!

Sort:  

Wearing certain colours and clothing, yup sounds exactly like what I did. Not eating certain food, sitting at the table for hours, my brother!

Laughed reading this and loved the photos you found to accompany your stubborn streak you have carried throughout your life, you recognize it, part of who you are.

Have an awesome day and thanks for your take on yourself @plint

@tipu curate

Thanks a lot @joanstewart! Funny how so many of us have this stubborn behavior haha

Some of us are born this way, some develop it later 😄 be happy!

Hah, I'm pretty stubborn aswell. I think it helps me stick up for myself and my own interests though. Not follow the flock of sheeps as it were. It can be a little annoying when you eventually find out you're wrong, but you've been stubborn for so long, you don't want to give in after all that ;-)

Haha yes that is exactly it! After having stated so often that I am sure it was the way I said it was, it seems too much of a defeat to admit I was wrong haha 🤣

Why am I like this?
Hahaha, little miss stubborn!
Thank you for sharing, @plint
Good luck with the contest!
Ladies of Hive is here for you. This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by each other's stories. Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or maybe need to learn from others. No matter what it is… do it in Ladies of Hive.
You are not here for yourself alone.
We are here for each other.
Get to know other ladies in the community!
Engage others!
Support one another!
And let us have fun!

Thanks a lot for your amazing words! They are much appreciated