The most devastating event - Ladies of Hive Community Contest #83

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

The most devastating event in my life was the death of my father. He died suddenly, from a liver cancer, when I was thirty-two and it happened on the day before my birthday. It was awful for me.

My father wasn't a man who showed his feelings very often, but he loved us kids fiercely. We never doubted that. He worked hard and tried to provide for us, but he was always there for us.


source

He taught me how to drive a car, which was terrifying. He also took me fishing. When I was little, we went camping together every summer. He played catch with me. And when I got older, he drove me to school. He was the first person I called when I found out I'd gotten into college.

And then one day he was gone.

When I was young, I thought about what it must be like for people who lost their parents. What would it feel like to lose your mother or your father? How would you ever recover from such a loss?

It's not something I think about anymore. At least, not all the time. Losing my father was horrible, but I don't really feel sad about it. I miss him, of course, but he's no longer suffering. I'm happy for him.

But sometimes, when I'm alone, I still imagine what it would be like if he were alive today. If he hadn't died.

What would our relationship be like now? Would he have moved closer to me so we could see each other more often? Or would we still live in different states? Would he have retired already?

Would we still talk on the phone, or would we text instead? I can't remember the last time I actually spoke to my dad by phone.

Sometimes, I'll hear a song that reminds me of him. Sometimes, when I'm driving, I will find myself thinking about how he used to drive me to school.

Mostly, though, I just think about how much I wish he were here.

I try not to dwell on it too much, because I know that if he had lived, he wouldn't be the same person I knew. But sometimes, when I'm lying in bed at night, it's all I can do not to cry.

After my father died, I became a workaholic.

In the years after his death, I worked almost nonstop. I couldn't bear the idea of spending any time away from my job. I worked six days a week, twelve hours a day, and I didn't take vacations. Not even Christmas.

That kind of behavior is totally unhealthy, but I was desperate to make up for the time I spent with my family.

I was miserable, of course. I hated the way I looked, and I felt like I was missing out on my life.

At the time, I thought I was doing the right thing. I thought that if I just kept working harder, I would finally get ahead. I would prove to everyone that I was good enough.

My husband tried to talk to me about it, but I shut him down. I was determined to keep pushing forward. I didn't want anyone telling me to slow down.

One day, my boss asked me why I was so obsessed with work. He told me that I needed to take some time off. That I was going to burn out.

I argued back, but he insisted. So I agreed to take two weeks off. And then I quit. I didn't tell my boss that I was quitting, but I left a note behind. It said that I wanted to spend more time with my family. He seemed surprised, but he understood. He wished me luck, and he gave me a nice bonus.

That was the best decision I've ever made.

Now, I have a wonderful family. My husband and I have three beautiful children. We live in a nice house, and we're happy.

If my father were still alive, things might be different. Maybe he would have been proud of me.

But I know that I'm doing the right thing. I love my life.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your loss. I could feel the pain and the sadness in you. It was hard to go through that, but I believe that he is still watching over you and is happy that you have a good life and a beautiful family now.

Thanks for sharing !LADY

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.

It is really nice to hear from you. I am feeling a little better now, but it feels like there is a hole in my heart that can't be filled. I am trying to be strong for my family and myself. Thank you for your kind words!

I lost my father when I was 24 years old, I still suffer a lot when I remember it, thanks for sharing your experience

I am sorry for your loss. Take care of yourself and your family.

Hello @rinalars
Welcome to Ladies of Hive.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Thanks for sharing and
good luck with the contest.

Thank you!

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Obsessively driven to work after loss of a loved one is how some cope, husband and boss were both correct warning about burnout, fortunately decision to walk away, change your lifestyle completely most probably the best decision for yourself.

!LUV

Thank you!

Congratulations @rinalars! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!