You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Covid Childcare: It Takes A Village

in Ladies of Hive β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

I tell you what, you are a better woman than me!!!!!

Although to be honest in the end I would have done same, begrudgingly 🀣 I'm sure your influence upon the lad is a good one, lucky him. What a strange way the universe has sometimes.

Sort: Β 

I have come to it begrudgingly, too, over time. Asking for bail out money every few weeks for motorbike repairs etc etc makes me see how unsustainable all this "free delivery" culture is. And how it opens up a whole underclass of workers who literally don't earn enough to survive.

Ploi and I talk often about it and vent to let off steam. She feels pressure, and has been directly asked, to pay for her little brothers better education after she graduates. Sticks in everyone's craw, really. And yet the world is not changed by letting him grow up to be a Grab delivery driver too.

The opportunity of education and childcare is one denied to much of Asia. It sort of sucks if I spout fair trade and opportunity for my workers but deny it to my daughter's half brother. I often think to myself that I probably need to reread the Power of Now - to release the story-context, cos ultimately it is that that causes the grief, not having a 6 year old underfoot.

YOu're a wise woman, Marike. I"d be so begrudging and find that story context hard to let go. I'm sure you are as well, but as long as you are working on it, you're doing all right. What else can you do, as you say?