The most devastating event in my life - Ladies of Hive Community Contest #83

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Hello ladies! My answer will be long, but it's worth reading. I'll start from the beginning. I have an ordinary family. Mother, father, and sister. We live in a small village. In our house there are two rooms, one kitchen, bathroom and toilet. All the furniture is old and shabby. But we do not complain about anything.


source

But now let me tell you about what happened. One morning, my mother told me that we were going to visit my grandmother in the city. She said she had some problems with her health. That's why she couldn't come to see us for a while. So we left early in the morning. We took the train to the city. When we arrived, we went straight to the hospital. Grandma was already lying in bed. She looked very weak. Her hair was white and she was wearing a light blue dressing gown. The doctor came and asked my mother questions. Then he told us that grandma would need surgery.

I was so scared! How could they operate on a person who is sick? But the doctor said that grandma would get better after the operation. So we waited until the next day. After that, my parents drove me back home.

My grandmother died the following day. The doctor said she didn't have much time left. So I stayed by her side. I talked to her and tried to cheer her up. But she just smiled sadly. I remember how I cried during the night. I wanted to hug my grandmother. But I knew that she wouldn't survive. She was only sixty-five years old. So I went home alone. My mother and father were both crying. They said that grandma would be buried in the cemetery next to my grandpa. I was shocked. What did this mean? My grandmother wasn't even married! Who was going to bury her? Why was I crying? I was sad that my grandma had died. But I was also confused. I didn't understand why she had to die. She was still young. And she was my best friend. I loved her so much.


source

After that, my parents bought a plot of land for grandma's grave. A man came to build a tombstone. My parents ordered a gravestone with a picture of grandma. It was a beautiful photo of her smiling. The stone was painted red. The words "In memory of Olga" were written on it. I thought it was a good idea to put a picture of grandma on the tombstone. She always liked to take photos of herself. She kept them in a special album. I was sure that if she saw the stone, she'd smile.

A few days later, my parents invited all my relatives to the funeral. I felt terrible. I couldn't stop crying. But everyone was kind to me. They said that grandma would be watching over me from heaven. I believed them. I'm sure she did.

The worst thing happened a month later. My dad got fired from work. He worked as a taxi driver for many years. But his boss didn't like him anymore. He said that my father had been rude to passengers. And then he told my father that he had to quit. My father was very angry. He said that he hadn't done anything wrong. But the boss didn't care. He said that my father had to leave the company immediately. My dad was so upset. He couldn't believe it. He said that he was going to kill himself. I was afraid of him. We called the police and they came to our house. They gave my father a bottle of pills. But he refused to swallow them. I was worried that he might hurt himself. So I hid the pills in a cupboard.

Then my dad started drinking. He drank every day. He said that he wanted to forget about his problems. I was very scared. I didn't know what to do. I didn't want to lose my father. But I was also afraid of him.


source

That's why I decided to run away from home. I packed a bag and ran away. I was so scared. I didn't know where to go. I walked through the streets and fields. Sometimes I slept under bushes. But it was cold and dark. I was hungry and thirsty. I was tired. I didn't know what to do. I felt lost. I missed my family. But I was too ashamed to go back home.

I met a woman. She offered me food and shelter. She said she would look after me. I was very happy. She was very nice to me. I lived with her for a week. But then she said that she was going to marry someone. I was heartbroken. I cried all night. I felt lonely and sad. I wanted to cry more. But I couldn't. I was too embarrassed. I didn't want to make a scene. So I left her house. I was walking around the streets. I was so tired. I sat down on a bench. I was thinking about my future. I was trying to decide what to do. I didn't want to return home. But I couldn't find any other place to stay.

So I went to the police station. I told the policemen that my father was drunk and he threatened to kill himself. The policeman said that they couldn't help me. They said I should go to a shelter. I was so upset. But I had no choice. So I went home with the policeman.

When we arrived, my parents were waiting for me. They were very angry. They said that I was a bad girl. They said that I shouldn't have run away. They said that I was selfish. I didn't deserve to live. They were shouting at each other. They said that I was a disgrace to the family. They said that I was worthless. I was shocked. I didn't know what to say. I was scared. I felt helpless. I wanted to run away again. But I couldn't. I was trapped.

The next day, I went to school. I was very nervous. I didn't know what to say to my classmates. They stared at me. They whispered behind their hands. I was very frightened. I didn't want to talk to anyone. I was so shy. I just wanted to hide. I felt so sad.

One day, I received a letter from my father. He wrote that he was sorry. He said that he didn't mean to hurt me. He said that he was suffering from depression. He asked me to forgive him. He said that he loved me very much. He begged me to come back home. He promised that things would be different this time.


source

I read the letter several times. I was so surprised. My father had changed. He was no longer a monster. He was a human being. I realized that I loved him very much. So I decided to go home. I missed my parents. I needed them.

I was very happy when I returned home. But I still couldn't forget about my past. I was afraid that something bad would happen again. I was always afraid of my father. But I had to try. I had to learn to trust him. I had to be brave.

I told my parents everything. I told them about my grandmother. I told them about my life. I told them about my fears. They listened to me. They understood what I was going through. They said that they were proud of me. I felt so happy.

We spent a lot of time together. We talked about our lives. They told me that they loved me. They said that I was the most precious thing in the world. They said that I was their daughter and they would never abandon me. I felt like a princess. I knew that my parents loved me.

I stopped feeling guilty. I forgave myself for running away. I forgot about my past. I didn't feel ashamed anymore. Now I could live my life happily.

My father became a new person. He stopped drinking. He started working again. He found a job as a taxi driver. He said that he wanted to earn money to buy a car. He said that he wanted to drive people around town. I was happy that he was doing well.

Now I have a wonderful family. I have a loving father, mother, and sister. I have a good life. I'm happy.

I'm writing this story to share my experience with you. I hope you'll understand what I've gone through. And I hope you won't judge me. I hope you'll support me. I'm going to write another event soon. This one is about love. I hope you'll enjoy it.

Thank you for reading my story. I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Main thing in life is to communicate feelings, no one can guess inner turmoil one is going through. Thanks for sharing and now realizing how important family is as a unit working together.

Thank you for your thoughts.

Hurt lingers, memories never leave.