You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am Me

Your parents sound cooler than most of the Cantonese parents I know. That lack of pressure may be why you didn’t have a hard time fitting in? Anyway, I’m glad you didn’t those kinds of experiences!

In my school, people basically judged you by your accent or your ability to quote South Park more than race or origin. Now I feel bad for that kid who we thought had learning problems but actually just didn’t understand English well.

You sound like a kick ass mom too!

Sort:  

You sound like a kick ass mom too!

I think so too, but I guess we shall never know!

With my parents, it's more of them not really knowing or understanding rather than being cool. Like most Chinese in England back in those days, they were busy creating a better life for us

Good point. My parents tried so hard to do everything right and protect me from hardship. I ended up going out and seeking hardship. There is no right way to raise kids! I still think you are kick ass