Succulents - Show Us Your California Week 43

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

Hi Hivers!

This garden angel sculpture has been with me since I bought my first home in 2004. It was the first thing I got for my garden then.


Here it is in an old photograph taken of the angel in my first home. Gosh, the roses were so beautiful! I regretted selling that house. Oh well, we all have to move on to better things!.

I have potted succulents in the corner of my tiny front courtyard. The weather around here can be very hot and dry during summers, I find that succulents survive very well on this corner.

A common succulent, this is a Jade Plant. My Mom called it "money plant", and she insisted on planting them all over the front garden of our home. Growing up so used to seeing Jade Plants, I had to have them on the front courtyard of my home too!


If I want to follow my mommie's footsteps, I need to propagate the money plant so that I could populate the entire front courtyard, right?

These are all Jade plants, but the one in front of the photo below is a Hobbit Jade Plant, which my Mom called "Gumby".


This next one is a small-leaved succulent plant Elephant Bush, and Mommie referred to this plant as "Dwarf".


I love this next succulent that has wavy, paddle-like leaves of silvery blue, and it is called "Blue Dude".


I guess what I really want to share with you this beautiful and sublime Sunday is the fact that I am missing family.

I miss being surrounded by family... my two brothers, my Dad, and most especially my Mommie.

I know that they are all looking down on me from heaven.

And I know that my Mommie must be so proud of me that I carried on her love for succulents even if it is just in a small portion of my front yard.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨:•.♥

@brian.rrr showed a succulent plant a couple of days ago, I thought I follow him! This is my entry to the SHOW US YOUR CALIFORNIA contest.

And oh, THANK YOU so much for the Koozie @derekrichardson!!! I love it!



😍 #ilikeitalot!😍

All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP


Sort:  

I love jade plants, they are so easy to reproduce too! I have one but it doesn't look as nice as yours since it's stuck in the house for half the year, it does well when it's outside tho with the pretty burgundy leaves. Thanks for sharing your collection!

It just grows.... you stick them onto the soil, and it grows!
They're the most durable plants I've found so far for this area.
By next year, I'll probably fill the whole wall with them, hehehe!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

I know, that's how I got mine, it was just a few broken leaves that I stuck in the dirt that a friend gave me. They are pretty durable indeed, I wish I could grow it fully outside to line the yard with it like you do!

Succulents? I think they will die in the snow, but chances are they will grow back!

Prickly pears do grow here naturally but, yeah they die every winter so succulents never have a chance to get big here if kept outside. I should try it tho, you never know.

I bet Summers are wonderful there!

Oh yeah!! We are mostly dry plus the mountains absorb a lot of the moisture into it's system so we get next to no rain most years with the sun up forever, hot tho but it cools down fast at night. We have a little desert in drumheller.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @silversaver888, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Woot, woot!!!
Yay!! I won!!!!
Thank you. thank you @thesocalhive!!!

🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The compliments for the care you have of your garden

Awww... thank you, @stefano.massari!
Do you like plants, and do you take care of plants?
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

I like plants. I tried to have a small flower bed, but I couldn't keep it. I believe that when I retire and have more time, there will be more grass and more plants around my house, and I'll take care of them

Hahaha... I am not retired!

unfortunately for me, my only hope is retirement.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I think the times we are in make us long for the closeness of family. I know I am experiencing similar feelings and have been thinking a lot about my mom, dad and brother who have also passed from this world. Remembering......

As for the plants, your second one was what we called Hens and Chicks, also known to me as Cat and Kittens. Interesting the different names of the same plants from various parts of the country.

Thanks for sharing sis. Have a good day tomorrow! Here's a big HUG for you from me!🤗🤗🤗

Somehow, succulents always remind me of Mom... oh, I miss them. I'm thinking that I'm getting older by myself!
It's funny how that is! Hens and chicks!'
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

🤗😘❤️

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very nice succulents 😎 thanks for sharing! 😃

I got the idea from you, @brian.rrr!!!
Congratulations fr winning 1st place!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I do love succulents and I know this is about them, but!!! That angel in the garden looks like mine!!! With the exception that she is holding a bowl, so all of God's creatures can come down for a refreshing taste of water.

I love it!! I love that yours is surrounded by the luck of the Irish!!! Love!!!!

Yes, I have seen that Angel! Where did I see it?
You are the only one so far that has shown as Angel, and I remember because Angels are my favorite creatures!
I have them in silver too!!!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

That is so cool!! I love angels too! I have several in my garden! :) Yours is so beautiful!

Several!!! Ohhh... i'd love to see it!!!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I wish I could keep the plant alive that are in my house right now so looking at your green fingers I have envy hahahah I gonna try jade plants maybe they will stay alive

And that koozie derek send is awsome

Oh, I won a tee shirt too!!! It so neat, he has all these different giveaways for prizes, plus the Hive,'
So much fun!
I wish we could do the same for Ladies of Hive!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

That would be so much fun but sending it all over the world is a bit difficult

Yeah... the 5 HIVE will suffice for now, until we can think of something!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Ms. Saver I got To See and Hold in My Hand Something SUCCULENT today at my LCS. Extremely Rare and This is the First One I have Ever Held and https://allengelhard.com/ is Still Working on the Gold Bar Part of their Website to give us an Idea How Many have Been Minted............. 10 Ounces of Lovely GOLD and It Could have Been Mine Today if I Was Willing to Trade $20,000 in FIAT Notes For It......... @silversaver888, Instead I just Added some more Over Priced Silver Bars to the Stack............ HeHeHeHe !!!

005.jpg

004.jpg

Oh my... succulent alright!!!
$20,000! My, oh my! When will I ever get to hold one.
Ah! There is no such thing as overpriced silver!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

What a beautiful grotto @silversaver888!😀 My Grandmother had a Jade plant just like yours I remember this plant well!! Thanks for sharing my friend, excellent post😍😍😀

Oh, thanks for saying that! I loved that area!!!
I have lived there the longest (so far), and somehow I can't forget it!
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

I can understand that @silversaver888, we wanted to move to the Northwest and sold our custom post and beam home in the High Country of Colorado. I still miss that home...
I guess it's all a part of life my friend😍😍😀

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello dear friend @ silversaver888 good day
How beautiful is your sculpture, and how good that you have it with you for many years, what a beautiful garden
succulents in addition to being resistant are very beautiful
I really appreciate that you have taught us
I take this opportunity to wish you a great day

I've had that Angel since 2004, So how long has it been... 17 years!
Wow... that seems like forever to me, hahaha.
I have only a few of these succulents, but by next year, I will have more!
Have a great day, @jlufer 🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

That sounds great, succulents are very beautiful to have at home, there are also many varieties, others are the captus.
enjoy your garden a lot

I have never really been into cactuses. I guess I'm afraid I might prick myself!
Weird, huh?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 43 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank you, @fambalam!