Ladies of Hive Contest

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

This is my entry in Ladies of Hive Community contest. I invite my beautiful daughter @adeleflawless to join this amazing community.

This week’s question and theme is:

Are you who you want to be? Did you dream of being something else, or settle down into a life that just took you along...?

My short answer is YES. I am who I wanted to be: MYSELF.

I am a freedom crusader. All my life I fought for freedom and I GOT IT. So I am what I wanted to be and where I wanted to be.

I grew up in a communist country at that time, Romania.

Teenage years, college… I got my engineering degree, worked a few years in the field, like everybody else… but never stop searching for freedom.

I finally got my chance and came to USA in my 30’s. I worked very hard here, more than I worked in my country, as I had to start from the bottom. My diploma was not recognized unless I took many additional credits that I couldn’t afford.

I guess the engineering field was not for me. I joined jewelry business, from sourcing, selling to even making it. I became a good jewelry dealer and I learned how to play with wire… my passion of becoming an artist started to mold in my brain…

And here I am today, reaching 60 years old… looking back at a life full of passion, ups and downs, traveling all over the world selling diamonds… from Caribbean to Alaska and Hawaii and back to New York. I remember one year I traveled so much, I put together the miles that equaled 1/2 of the Equator!

And guess what? As I am approaching retirement years, I feel that I just have a new beginning. So much stuff is waiting to be discovered by my curious mind! I am more spiritual at this stage in my life… looking for more answers than ever… getting more connected with Mother Nature… my all time inspiration for my artistic creations that MAKE ME REALLY HAPPY.

So yes! Life is what we make of it. I surely made mine FUN.

Lots of hugs from my heart to yours 🥰 Here’s a pic of my daughter, my grandson and me. All free! Mission accomplished. 😉

9348F5F0-86D8-477C-BF99-BACF4DAE95F1.jpeg

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

You have received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

Made a move in more ways than one at 30, change in country, change in career path both big moves.

Finding direction for oneself, feeling satisfied looking back a very comfortable place to be. Now entering years to enjoy new with daughter and grandson close, plenty to plan and look forward to.

What a beautiful family photo! Looking back and being able to say that it was fun makes it a success!

Great story!
It must have taken a lot from you immigrating to this country.
I try to read in between the lines, as there is so much more than what your pen can write.
You've lived here almost as long as in your old country.
And there is so much to be said about that.
Celebrate YOURSELF, @starjewel!
Thanks for sharing.
Good luck with the contest.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
And let's have fun!

So yes! Life is what we make of it. I surely made mine FUN.

And I you deserve it , life is to short so why not enjoy it