You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Covid Childcare: It Takes A Village

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Great post! Very interesting insight to a culture so unlike my own.

However - "where those who 'have' are expected to share no-holds-barred with those who don't"
This, as a Westerner, just seems blatantly toxic and horrible (from my perspective). It reminds me of the Icarus Effect, where society tries to drag down whoever dares to try to succeed as an individual. I wonder - do you think that this ultra-collectivist mindset reduces motivation for individual financial success?

Sort:  

Strangely, while I can see your point about ultra-collectivist behaviour, it simply doesn't work that way. Because the society collectively values "no one left behind" and is built on Buddhist foundations where materialism is not the be-all-end-all, there is great status to be had by voluntarily helping someone who needs it. Indeed, individualistic, me-first behaviour is considered blatantly toxic and horrible.

Culture is a slippery thing. Have you travelled much - as in LIVED for extended periods in non-western cultures, rather than doing a 3 month nomadic-western drive through? It's quite the eye opener! And recommended.

Ironically my own half-Thai daughter is motivated to succeed financially for many reasons, but a BIG one is to be able to help less fortunate members of her Thai family. I might add that she is the major shareholder of our company. 😆

Perspective is everything. Appreciate you sharing your perspective - thank you. 😊

Right, I'm hardly a shill for crony vulture capitalism, where the motto is "dog eat dog, even if he's not hungry". Extreme individualism is a disease of its own.
I suppose, that with most ideologies - it works so long as the people are in the same mindset. I would likely find myself distancing from such a mentality (and I have a Filipino friend who moved to Canada for that reason), but then again - I'm a product of my culture.

No, not really - I moved to Israel 10 years ago from the Netherlands, which is still a Western culture, even if on the surface it seems to be different. So no, I've always lived in the West one way or the other, though I've been exposed to foreign cultures (Soviet parents and all that) vicariously.

You half-Thai daughter is probably an example of culture shaping perspective, like you said. Anyway, it seems that you've really found your place and this was an interesting insight! I might go around to read your other posts too, then :) Cheers!