Ladies of hive contest #156: My Hope Story

in Ladies of Hive8 months ago (edited)

⬇️

A few years ago, I was diagnosed with a movement disorder. I was on the verge of gaining admission to one of the prestigious universities.

Boom! I changed from a healthy, vibrant lady to a sickly lady who practically made the hospital her home.

I watched as my dreams of attending the prestigious university flew through the window.

I was in the hospital for months, and a lot of the drugs prescribed by the doctors messed me up with adverse side effects.

At some point, I told myself, "You know what? I am not doing this again." I asked for my discharge papers and left the hospital.

Over time, I learned how to cope with my movement disorder. I learned what to do and what not to do when it comes to having spasms. Gradually, I got used to it, and I became better.

miguel-bruna-TzVN0xQhWaQ-unsplash.jpg
source
During this experience, I was at a point where I lost hope of getting better. I was so down and depressed that I was just a line away from committing suicide.

Then, there was a day I had some reactions from one of those drugs, and I was rushed to the emergency unit of the hospital. At some point, I felt myself slipping away, but I could hear my sister calling out my name and begging me not to die. My grandma was on the floor, rolling in tears. I passed out.

When I became stable again, I promised myself to cling to hope and stay alive for these people whom I love.

This experience taught me to always hold on to hope. I need hope to stay alive. I need hope to have a positive mindset. Hope also helps me to achieve my goals.

Various experiences I've had have taught me to always be hopeful in every situation.

One of the things I have done to boost my belief and conviction is to list my goals. For example, when I was ill, my goal was to recover and get back to my normal self.

I continuously reminded myself that my condition isn't permanent, and I loved to reminisce about how happy I was before the movement disorder and how happy I'll be when I recover.

I also learned to pray to God for my recovery.

Thanks for coming to my blog!

⬇️

IMAGE SOURCE: UNSPLASH

Sort:  

This is beautiful to read and motivational. Clinging to hope despite the seeming troubles is a noble trait we must imbibe. Thank you for sharing

That's the spirit, just keep on hoping for better days ahead.Me too, had a lot of health issues but then, still learning to moving forward.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you're learning how to move forward.

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @tofunmi185 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (12/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

YAY! You were upvoted by the @minnowsupport project!
!LADY😍

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @tofunmi185 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you so much

Thank you for your entry!
!LADY😍

View or trade LOH tokens.


@hive-124452, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @tofunmi185 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (7/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you so much

View or trade LOH tokens.


@tofunmi185, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I often wonder how really useful or effective drugs; Citalopram, Bupripion, etc that actually useful for treating depression. In the past, I've taken my fair share of various drugs that hardly help relieve the main issue. Getting sufficient exercise, eating right, having enough sleep and socializing with positive friends got me out my mindset.💙

I'm glad you're better now.

Mental anguish through pain, your decision to walk away from drugs, learn to cope on your own, a mental power few realize is able to pull one through exceptionally negative times.

!LUV

@tofunmi185, @joanstewart(6/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

It wasn't an easy feat but I am glad I made that decision.

Often wonder if doctors are not over dosing in many situations, might have been difficult decision to make, by far the healthier outcome.

Congratulations @tofunmi185! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP