Bringing My Offline Friends To Hive Hasn't Been Easy

image.png

Hive created an opportunity for me to blog and earn and I literally didn't have to do anything but use my account. No hosting or maintenance fees and I get to express myself and make money? It blew my mind and I thought it'd blow people's minds when I told them about it. Well, I got a shocker.

People weren't as interested as I thought they'd be. Whenever I scroll through my WhatsApp stories, I see potential hive members that could offer great value here 'wasting' their content. Almost everyone I told about hive seems to think I was selling some pyramid scheme and had something to gain from onboarding them.

They always wanted to know when they'd get paid, how many people they'd need to refer and all that. I decided to switch up my strategy and target my friends with an interest in writing/creating. I remember the first one I talked to, it was her who first told me about the then steemit. She knew about hive after the fork but then she wasn't going to use it because the value wasn't close to what steem was in its glory days. That was my first fail.

I targeted more of my friends who have an interest in creating, writing or blogging. I had thought they'd be up and doing almost immediately they created their accounts because it's right up their alley but I was wrong. The easiest part was onboarding and the hardest was getting them to be consistent.

I've onboarded about six people and none of them actively uses their accounts. This makes me feel like a failure and I've lost the zeal to talk to any more people about hive. A friend of mine recently asked me about hive and I unintentionally ignored her messages because I felt she was just going to be like everyone else I onboarded. I got back to her though because I realized it was her coming to me about hive and not even me trying to sell it to her.

When I got onboarded on hive, I was lost because I didn't know what niches I'd fit into. Now there are more niches on hive and with a few clicks here and there, I think a newbie won't find it hard to acclimatize. I suggest communities I think people would fit in, encouraging them to read and indulge the posts of other members.

It's always so satisfying to see your recruit make their introductory post and them getting excited at the post payout. They're always like, "wow...just like that?" They write one or two more posts and that's it. I apply pressure, encouraging them to continue using their accounts but then it gets to the point where I start feeling like a bother and I undelegate my HP from their accounts.

My friend @mavido for example is an awesome writer, he expresses himself through poetry and does really cool graphic designs too, and I think he'd do well on hive seeing that he has all-round interests. He was quick to understand how hive works to an extent and had a good first impression after his first post but that hasn't kept him here.

My own brother @tallbone0809 is an artist and a photographer. He's not much of a writer but his art can do all the talking. I just assume his life is too fast-paced to find time to share his art here (??🤷‍♀️)

@eiidith is another friend I onboarded three months ago. She likes talking to the camera and taking pictures. She says she wants to start her own blog also and I figured hive was a great starting point. Her last post was about two months ago though. Hopefully, she finds time out of her schedule to frequent here and explores more communities.

@glowvin is one of my closest friends that I also onboarded three months ago. She's awesome at singing classical music and I was surprised when I saw she had posted her video through @threespeak without needing much help from me. She's also one of my smartest friends and I think she will have interesting content for the @stemsocial community. Her last post was two weeks ago and I still encourage her to check in here.

Some people see hive as too much of a task and an obligation. My advice to them is just to have fun with it for a start. It can be complicated and discouraging when you first start but trust me, with some consistency, it doesn't take long to get the hang of it. It could be overwhelming but like with everything new, it's a learning process. I'm still learning myself and I try to be consistent. I've been on hive over a year and only learnt how to trade my crypto for fiat not too long ago on my own.

These days, I talk about hive in passing and a few people are interested but I don't push it. I think I'll focus on the people I already have here and assist them in every possible way I can.

Well, this ended up being a rant about how my recruits are not consistent but it's actually an answer to the Ladies of Hive contest question of the week. I invite @kemmyb and @monica-ene to this contest.

Sort:  

I get it! I had a bunch of failures too. These days I’ve had a few more people ask about hive though. It seems like if they read more than one of my blog posts and see the conversations happening in the comments and that intriguing number in the bottom right hand corner, they get interested.

If I try to tell them all the reasons to be interested, they feel it’s probably too good to be true. Gotta let them get interested on their own.

Leaving it to them to get interested is the easier route 😄

You have received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for posting in Ladies of Hive.

Consistency is the hardest especially when incentives aren’t coming…. Was very active on the then steemit but when the incentives reducing I gradually lost interest…. However my contact with chain has always made me to return and make contributions and add value… over time I have learnt what hive stands for and I know am sticking here for a very long time so I encourage you to keep the onboarding . This way hive grows stronger everyday

You're right about the incentives part. Consistency is the major thing I preach. You can't not actively use your account and expect rewards.

I just started on Hive and before anything else , I want to work on my consistency, because I know how to easily give up on things. This won't be one of those cases, I hope 😪

I totally feel this. I've onboarded a few friends but they all left (and haven't been active in a couple of years, not since Steemit days). Some of them just don't spend very much time online at all so I understand that a bit more, but some of them spend a lot of time on other social media and I'm just like, pooooost heeeeeeeereeeeee. LOL
I think a lot of it, in the case of my friends, is that they don't see themselves as "content creators," and so if their extant friends aren't here already to interact with they get bored with it rather than make new friends or post because they are making art of some kind that they want to share with the world.
!BEER

Some of them just don't spend very much time online at all so I understand that a bit more, but some of them spend a lot of time on other social media and I'm just like, pooooost heeeeeeeereeeeee. LOL

I feel you. This is my reaction every time.

What you say about them getting bored their friends aren't here applies to many also. Hopefully they get curious on their own and build interest.


Hey @wolfofnostreet, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

I feel this badly do, sometimes I hunt and admire talents that will be appreciated here but with all the reasons and many more you have listed they don't stay, I feel disappointed why they prefer the fake life and likes on Facebook compare to where they will meet people who are genuine and willing to help them... Thanks for the invitation.

...I feel disappointed why they prefer the fake life and likes on Facebook...

It's very fascinating to see such people not earn a single cent from all their time spent on Facebook.

Yes, indeed!
Your "rant" answers the question of the week!
I have experienced the same...
the people I know personally are simply not the persons who will join you.
Isn't it weird that you share so much interest with a person, you just assume she will join!
My best sis in Hive is @kerrislravenhill. I doubt if she has a personal friend here either, hehehe 😜!
Thanks for sharing @wolfofnostreet!
And good luck with the contest.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
And let's have fun!

Isn't it weird that you share so much interest with a person, you just assume she will join!

So weird 😁

Well I'm glad you've made a meaningful friend here. I hope to someday meet a couple of my hive friends in real life.

Yes, I am glad too!!!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Lol. You friends sound exactly like me. It took a lot of cajoling and sweet talking before I could understand that it wasn't anything like a Ponzi scheme.
I think the hardest thing to deal with is perhaps what seems like delayed gratification.

I think the hardest thing to deal with is perhaps what seems like delayed gratification.

That's why we need to employ patience. Nothing good comes easy afterall.

When I talk about hive with anyone, I try to give people a realistic picture.
I always emphasize that it is possible to monetize, but it takes time and dedication. Many people get discouraged when they see that it is not easy.
When I saw that they were leaving the platform, like you, I started to select people.
I looked at how well they write, but I also looked at their personality and one thing I always look for is their ability to get things done and it worked for me.
This experience is wonderful...

It blew my mind and I thought it'd blow people's minds when I told them about it. Well, I got a shocker.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

I laughed hard when I saw this part because I have been here, thinking just because I am loving hive and everything it provides, my friends would too. I got more shocks too.

I see you have a truck load of them too. I was hoping the human who came and asked you on her own will do better, it turns out she was just like all of them

I hope you will have more success with recruiting in the future. I really do

I wish you luck in the contest


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you @edystringz

I guess everyone has been shocked then 😁

I have tried to get onboard a few people but with not much success. I came on Hive/Steem with a group of YouTube content creators all of them left except for @silversaver888 and I and in a limited way, stokjockey. Many were performing great where I was on a lone wolf style, taking the scenic route. One former blogger said that he couldn't commit the time to keep up blogging and it's true. I even find it difficult to make the time and have stepped back only to be encouraged back by a member.
Support and encouragement is so critical for our minnow members and newbies.
This year I am in a better position to do that.
That's why I focus my curating on the newer gals much more. 🌸

That's why I focus my curating on the newer gals much more. 🌸

That's really thoughtful of you.

Everything has its time, many people do not believe that they can have fun, create content and have the opportunity to see profits in their jobs. I was like that, until I decided to give myself a chance. Do not feel that you have failed, you have granted the blessing of making known a platform full of opportunities, it only remains that others know how to understand it ... A hug and happy week!

Thank you for your kind words.

Without a deep understanding of hive, I think most people you would tell about it would literally not have interest.

Have a few people on my part who are interested but I don't think I have the capability to onboard anyone right now 😆

Wow you have several friends here in Hive, congratulations

They're barely here but thank you 😄

Initially, I too was so excited and invited family and friends
Some fought me on crypto being a scam
The ones who signed up expected their blogs to fly and when they didn't, they went back to where their friends were...
Now, I talk about it but I don't invite anyone - if they ask more I tell them but I am not going to be their boss and force them to post and engage and all that

You have done pretty well inviting your friends over :D

We all have the same story 😄

Almost everyone I told about hive seems to think I was selling some pyramid scheme and had something to gain from onboarding them.

I can relate to this! Some people I have invited and shared Hive with the thought that it is a "possible scam" and so they do not want to be onboarded. Huhu. It's a shame that they are wasting their great content in social media apps that they do not get to monetize.

My advice to them is just to have fun with it for a start. It can be complicated and discouraging when you first start but trust me, with some consistency, it doesn't take long to get the hang of it.

Thank you for the wonderful advice!😍🥰

And thank you for reading ☺

I am new to Hive so I could easily understand your frustration. When my friend told about this ecosystem, I haven't heard anything about it before. All the blockchains and cryptocurrency made it difficult for me. Until I actually did my own homework and investigate about Hive.

I then told some of my friends about it but they are not sure at all. Some of them also think it's a pyramid scheme LOL.

I believe with a proper onboarding process and when the platform is easier to use, more people will see the benefits of Hive.

It's great that you try to help people and encourage them to write. But many times they don't have time or are not passionate about blogging. Thanks for sharing, I'm sure you will find someone who will be encouraged to post consistently. Best regards.

Thank you. I hope I find someone too

Currently I'm so occupied with things and I'm trying to Create balance For myself but I'll try to be consistent here.. Thanks anyways 🤗