Batch 34 Started, Slack Lines Up - Tuesday

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago

The day started out nice and bright and sunny. We took R to school and it was warm and no clouds then we went to pick up our grocery order and headed home. Within the next 2 hours the clouds moved in and the day got grey. As the clouds moved over from the bunch of cells around it snowed lightly while the sun shone through the gaps. It didn't amount to anything other than losing the sun for the rest of the day.

Once the boys had eaten their lunch I went out and set up a couple of slack lines for them. They are shorter lines, only about 15 and 20 feet long but I put an overhead line for them to use to help them develop their walking technique and balance. Once the weather looks to be better for a while I will setup the long line for me to walk and them to attempt.

IMG_20210223_140914.jpg
IMG_20210223_140923.jpg

For the afternoon R helped me get the next batch of trays ready. In our grocery order I got 8 green bell peppers and more tomatoes to put through the machine. First up were the peppers which I halved then deseeded. R spent his time removing the seeds from the cores into a big pile which we ended up sweeping off onto paper towels and closing the sides to allow them to dry. He wants to try planting the seeds.

IMG_20210223_152409.jpg

With the bell peppers I have to remove the white ribs on the inside. We found with the red peppers that the white parts take the longest to dry out so I am making sure to remove it on these.

IMG_20210223_152421.jpg

The first tray is slices of pepper.

IMG_20210223_154107.jpg

The second tray is "diced" pepper. They are cut into chunks a bit bigger than dices.

IMG_20210223_155243.jpg

Once the peppers were on the trays and we had the seeds dealt with I washed up the tomatoes and cut them up. R helped by putting the pieces on the tray for me. I got 8 tomatoes cut up with most in wedge slices but 1/4 of the tray is smaller chunks.

IMG_20210223_155831.jpg

IMG_20210223_160918.jpg

I suddenly found myself without anything to fill the other 2 trays so I went to the freezers and started digging. I found a bunch of quart ziplocks full of rhubarb so I emptied out one and then about half of the other to fill the tray. I have no clue how this will come out, I just wanted something to fill the tray with and to empty the freezer a bit.

IMG_20210223_163340.jpg

In another freezer we have frozen veggies so I pulled out the corn and filled the last tray with it. I would much rather have the corn on the shelf than taking up room in the freezer.

IMG_20210223_163605.jpg
IMG_20210223_163630.jpg

It's sunny again this morning and hopefully it stays that way today. This evening we have scouts and today


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

That's cool the boys will have slack lines to mess around on.