Batch 42 Finished

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago (edited)

The rhubarb took 63 hours to finish processing. That is the longest single run I have done so far but it makes sense. I put 18 pounds of cooked rhubarb onto the tray and I got out 1 pound. 17 pounds of water was removed from the rhubarb! Quite amazing and the ice block on the inside was huge. While letting it defrost I discovered it is extremely good that I have the catch bucket in a shallow bucket since the inner overflowed from all the melting ice. In all I got about 1.75 gals of water from the defrost cycle.

I look forward to using some of the rhubarb to make strawberry rhubarb that will be smooth and not chunky. I bet I can get the texture to come out like the lemon in the lemon meringue pie. It will likely depend on how much water I use to reconstitute the rhubarb. I presume I will be able to use some of the strawberry juices to rehydrate it but will need a good bit more than the strawberries contain. Will be interesting to play with.

The next batch will have to wait until after the weekend. I need to clear more stuff our of the freezers so I will dig and come up with a full load to run when the temps are cooler.

IMG_20210610_063029.jpg

IMG_20210610_063816.jpg

IMG_20210610_063810.jpg

IMG_20210610_063058.jpg

IMG_20210610_063021.jpg


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

I'll be curious to see how the rhubarb works in the strawberry-rhubarb combo...