It's that time again... lol

in Ecency3 months ago

If you've followed my blog for any length of time, you know that I will regularly do cleanses, detoxes, and fasts. I believe this has greatly improved my health over the years. as I have many physical complexities in my body. If I hadn't started these practices 20 years ago, I think my body would have built up a great deal of struggles to overcome.

Many in the medical world would say that we don't need to detox. They hold the opinion that our bodies were designed to naturally detox, and that we should simply allow them to do their job. I agree on some level. If we lived in a world where the air, water, soil, and food were clean - our bodies were designed to keep up with THAT amount of natural toxicity to flush out. However, we are under constant assault, and our filtration systems look a lot like an overflowing inbox on our work desks!

I've heard that a detox is like taking your car to get the fluids and filters checked at the 10,000 mile mark. I like this analogy, because it's something so many can relate to! Yes the filters are meant to keep cleaning the machine, and the fluids are serving their purposes too - but at some point, it's time to clean THOSE too so that our car works at its best!

Recently, I was talking to a friend and explaining about my current fast. I have done water fasts before, and they are incredibly empowering, but I have never gone past 3 days for a strict water fast. This is just as the name implies - only water allowed.

I have also done 20 days of fruit/veggie juice as a juice fast. Again, as the name implies - for 20 days straight (no breaks), you literally only have clear liquids from fruit and vegetables.

I've explained that in my opinion, short fasts are like "spring cleaning" in your house. As winter progresses, we tend to get a little lax on the maintenance of our homes; spring arrives with a fresh clarity and sense of rebirth and boom! We're ready to give a good scrubbing to our home. That's what short fasts feel like to me. I'd personally clarify 1-6 days as a short-term fast that will freshen up your "home".

However, again - in my opinion, a fast that extends 7+ days becomes something different. To me, it's like packing up everything in your house and moving to a brand new home! You can't BELIEVE the amount of worker bee cells that are running around in your body, cleaning, repairing and rejuvenating! My eyesight clears, my joints feel younger, I have LOTS more energy, I sleep more fully, and I just simply feel like I've moved into a brand new modern house, just the way I like it!

Today is my day 7 - and I'm feeling pretty amazing! The first 3-4 days of any detox/cleanse/fast can be miserable. It really depends on how toxic your body is BEFORE going into the fast. The more toxicity you have, the stronger your reaction to the fast. Your body has been holding onto that toxicity for a while, since you've been keeping it in digestive mode for so long. Removing that, it gets VERY excited to start flushing those toxins into the bloodstream so that it can move right on out of your body. However, until it does "move out", you can feel sluggish, achy, irritable, and in pain. The temptation to pull out of that stage is always the hardest for me. Simply eating something will flip that switch from detox/repair mode right back into the lovely, lazy, snuggly, cozy digestion mode! hahaha However, every time I push past that stage, I enter the "I FEEL GOOD" era!!!

For the first time ever, I'm going to attempt to break my record and go further into my fast. I can tell this time is going to be different, because my mind has shifted from "I have X many days until I'm done" to "Yay!!! I've completed another day!!" It might seem like a subtle shift, but believe me - when you're doing a fast, every thought matters. Your success can easily be determined on your perspective! I have gone into 20 day fasts that I've ended on day 2 - even day 1! Simply because I wasn't prepared mentally for the journey. It takes more than discipline, and more than commitment - in my experience. It takes a peace that emanates from inside, reassuring you that you can accomplish this, and you will.

Surprisingly, I'm not hungry. The body has a way of finding balance. But, I will share this... I am so looking forward to the day when I get to have a delicious taco again. I might have three...or more, more, more! hehehe And my yummy friend pizza will be a happy companion of mine, once that future day arrives! The only question that truly matters is : Which is first? The taco or the pizza? hehehe


Images created with Midjourney, edited with photopea. Video from Youtube.

Sort:  

Taco first I'd say.

😳 Day 7 😮 of 😲 water fast 😱. I am feeling [whatever it is called] right now thinking about it. Verily, I wouldn't last day 2 with my mindset.

Yes, the body definitely would find a balance and use up excesses stored when there was bountiful harvests. 🙂

hehehe - no, i have only done a water fast for 3 days.

I'm currently on day 7 of a juice fast - clear liquids from fruits and veggies (and tea also)

tacos... can't go wrong with tacos... heheh they are so nice :)

and yes HAHAHAHA i have plenty of bountiful harvest for my body to use up over the next X amount of days hehehe

i'll have to tell you which day I reach... :)

thanks for the visit! so nice to see you heheeh

Having a fast has great health benefits physically and spiritually. I have never tried the juice only fast, I think I would try that. I usually Carry out the water fast and Daniel fast.

Thank you for the information.

Oh I've heard about the daniel fast - but never researched too much!

and yes - fasting... it's such a huge benefit right???

this particular one is just a physical one. When I did the water fast, that was spiritual.

but I do find that even when I'm even just doing the physical one - I have spiritual benefits too! that's like an added blessing!! :)

thanks for the visit Becky!

Yes fasting draws in loads of blessings to us.

It was my pleasure to stop by your blog captain dreamie

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Say it with me... Taco Pizza

I like to order my !PIZZA un-sliced!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@silversaver888(1/10) tipped @dreemsteem
kerrislravenhill tipped dreemsteem

Taco or pizza... I say PIZZA, first!!!
I admire you, sis!
Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and start of Lent. It is a day of fasting tomorrow. So, I will join you tomorrow!
xoxo
!BBH
!PIZZA

@dreemsteem! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (1/20)

You inspire me! And you're right! It does get easier as each day ticks by. You are doing great, my lovely. I'm so proud of you. 💗🥰🙏 !LUV !LADY !PIMP

Oh, and for me? Tacos 💯!!! 😋

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dreemsteem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.


You must be killin' it out here!
@samsmith1971 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @dreemsteem.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

dreemsteem, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

heheheh day 8 is nearing completely and day 9 is on the horizon!!!!!

tacos indeed!

You said you wanted to break your record. Do you have a cutoff point for when enough is definitely enough?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Yes - I have that set... I'll drop you a DM ❤️❤️

Will check now ♥️

I have seen some interesting fasts, and intermittent fasts around. Not yet been tempted to be on one though. Other than the discipline I just don't seem to get the days where I can take a slight risk without it affecting work. I might have to don some of them though as I do need to reduce my weight drastically.

oh yes - I've done intermittent fasting! I know that it works for so many people but for me - I don't know... I can't seem to FEEL the difference.

but fasting long term??? wow. yes!!! so so so different hehehe

i'm on day 8 today 😀

I have been telling myself that I need to detox. I guess everyone in my family has been waiting for me to put my words into action except me, hehehe. Because starting is always the most difficult part. So, reading this post, I am shifting from 'one day I will start' to 'I am starting now'. I know I needed a push, didn't know the push will come from reading Captain Dreemie's post...
Thanks for this.