Why does Brazil always speak first at the United Nations General Assembly

in Ecency3 years ago

Although I am software developer I have always had interest in foreign relationships. As a Brazilian I always saw Brazil talk first at the United Nations (UN) General Assembly (GA) but never realized how curious it was.

Brazil is not the first member of the United Nations, it is one of the 50 founding countries. It is not the greatest economic nor military power and is not even at the UN security council. Regardless of our economic or political situation, even during our dictatorship years, we have been the first country to speak at the UN GA, even before the host country!

brazil UN

The reason, according to a quick Google research, is that in the early meetings of the General Assembly no country wanted to speak first. Probably as speaking first was seen as a compromise and a burden.

Brazil, as a neutral country throughout history, saw no problem and since the 50's volunteered to open the UN GA by being the first to speak.

After a few years of being the first to volunteer to talk, it became an unwritten tradition that follows to this day, decades later.

Click here and vote me for witness on HiveSigner

Or use your preferred signing tool to vote me:


https://vote.hive.uno/@igormuba

Sort:  

Dear friend!

We really enjoy watching your creativity. I hope you will not be offended if we invite you to become a member of the newly opened The Art Hive community. We really appreciate your blogging talent. Of course, we still have little curatorial authority, but we are working on this, we are constantly negotiating with curators to support our community. We really hope that large curators will pay attention to us in the near future.

Welcome to The Art Hive Communities

To me am a Nigerian but the best country I wish to visit is Brazil due to the naturals feeling I have for Brazilian people,So as the first member of the United Nations and to talk first in a united nation parliament.it make me more interesting to visit the country with no time.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

How many of your grandparents died in WWII?

Brazil, as a neutral country throughout history

I'm going to guess "not many"

why are you even asking something like this? wtf

The author of this post has been tagging me in nearly every post this week crying because I downvoted him. So I am returning the favor by asking the question I want answered repeatedly until I have that answer.

If he wants to be an echo chamber, I will be too, eye for an eye.

fair enough