You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Setting up a new community

in Ecency2 years ago

Another major question that I cant find a clear answer on.:
What is the difference between a tribe and a community? I heard rumblings that devs were removing tribes and just calling them communities.
I understood that a tribe has a hive-engine token and a community doesnt.If they get rid of tribes and switch to just communities will that require a community to have it's own token?
Can a community have points similar to Ecency?

Sort:  

My communities are all supported by ARCHON. You must have 500 Archon tokens and then every comment on a post within the community receives a portion of staked ARCHON to encourage Engagement. Tribes often have their own tokens and sometime their own frontends and I think are pretty expensive to create. Some communities have tokens, I have been happy using and giving away POINTS!