Setting up a new community

in Ecency2 years ago

Do you have an idea for starting your own community on Hive? It's easy to do at Ecency. com!

It was requested by @unklebonehead that I write a post about starting a community

I couldn't resist using a screen shot image of this promotional car that was designed by Butch Davis @fbrbdavis to promote Ecency as the title sponsor for SRE racing! Join the NEED FOR SPEED community to keep updated on their racing schedule!

On Ecency.com just click on 'COMMUNITIES' to begin creating a new community.

img_0.7915505300780497.jpg

Then click 'CREATE COMMUNITY'.

img_0.06577281429859808.jpg

This is where you can write a description of your community and add some rules, which can be edited at any time. You can assign roles to add mods to your community to help with management.

On Hive.blog you can find the feature to create a community when you are in your wallet and click on communities. I did a quick look on PEAKD and didn't find it there, but for those of you familiar with navigating there you will find it faster than I did!

I have found that the most difficult part of building a community is promoting it. Hosting a contest helps get the word out and I have seen communities who require all people who enter to tag two friends. Finding people who will be interested in joining and posting into your community is important for its success.

My communities have been around for a long time and both Shadow Hunters and Feathered Friends have over 2000 members, but that did not happen overnight. It takes a lot of dedicated people to helped build the communities. Huge thanks goes to all the SH and FF mods and contest hosts and dedicated members! . You guys are the best! Choose your mods wisely!

img_0.2911970605646001.jpg

When the community has 100 members you can set it up as an Ecency supported community and the community will receive 20 POINTS each time someone posts into your community using Ecency. These points can be used as prizes or tips to reward your community members.

The first tag used on a post determines which community the post is directed into. Other tags can also be required if you need a way to make posts searchable and easy to find if you want sub categories within your community.

img_0.8303343582627802.jpg

I hope you have great success with your community! And please ask anytime you have a question that I might be able to help with.

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, Ladies of Hive, and the FeelGood Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.9186812742780536.jpg

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

uxeumm.png

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Image by @shasta

Enter the Reflection Hunters contest by @olgavita

Enter the Guess the Shadow contest by @eolianpariah

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!
Supported by @pixresteemer

Sponsored by Ecency


plumes.png

Banner and feathers
by @barbara-orenya

80pli5.png

hive-106444

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Enter the Show Me A Photo contest by @nelinoeva

Enter the Let our Picture Tell Your Story contest by
@wrestlingdesires

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by Ecency


plumes.png

Posted using Ecency Love

Sort:  

Do you have an idea for starting your own community on Hive?

It would be much better to make the existing communities really active. What is the point if every user have his/her own community, if none of the communities are really active?

That is a good point, but I hope Hive is growing and will have room for new communities. I think many topics are covered, but, for example, what if you loved golf (I do not, personally). I do not think there is a golf community. Is there a demand for one? In my experience, you never know. It is often surprising to me what is popular.

Golf would fit for example in OCD, in GEMS. And in many other communities. I love amateur radio, but currently there is no amateur radio community on the Hive blockchain either. But I would not think that it is a good idea to create a separate community for every hobby/passion/occupation. Maintaining and improving the already existing huge number of communities is a much better idea. At least this is my opinion.

There are certainly plenty of inactive communities, but it is up to the Community admin to promote and build a community. If you think you can do a better job building, than one that already exists and is not being properly promoted, I say go for it!

@melinda010100 I have a community already outside hive, we have been trying to sign up to no avail, we need help to sign them up to hive.

Trouble creating a Hive account, or trouble convincing them they should begin using Hive?

There is trouble creating account, I own this community outside hive, they want to signup, the problem is with signing up. I have made a short post on these for better understanding https://ecency.com/newbie/@campusgistars1/request-help-newbies-from-campusgistars

In the Ecency Discord https://discord.gg/pwyqTZkUUh there is a channel for ECENCY help for beginners. This post may provide some answers.

https://ecency.com/hive-125125/@beeber/ecency-help-signup-process-for

I can help with providing you with a few accounts. Let's DM on Discord.

Thank You Melinda!

Please let me know if I need to cover something in more detail!

i could use some "best practices" types of posts. Like what should be done a day to day in dealing with a community. And some definitions.

  • What is the difference between "following" and "subscribing" to a community?
  • What exactly does a moderator do?
  • How to create a curation trail
  • How to run a successful contest

I've never done anything like this so any and all tutorials are appreciated. Especially from using Ecency desktop for doing this.

Day to day-the community account can be used to engage with each member posting into the community. By using Ecency for votes and comments you will accumulate more POINTS for the community account. I think Engagement is key to helping the community grow.

As far as I am aware subscribe and join, both add you onto the list community members and follow is the same as when someone follows your personal profile. Your community account profile can be followed.

Mods can pin posts into the community but cannot use the community account to create posts unless you give them the posting key. They need the active key to use the acoiunt to vote on posts. Of course keys should only be given to your most trusted mods.

I can't help with curation trails. All of my personal and community curation is done manually. I curate community posts from my personal account and trusted mods curate and comment from the community account.

I think running a successful contest depends on promotion. People will join in if they are aware that the contest is happening! I see contests as more of a curation effort to return community earnings back to the members and we try to spread the winnings around to different community members. .

Everyone runs their communities differently. This is just my way.....

Thank you! That answered my biggest questions. I';m really gonna but a major effort into this community. And I hope it goes gang busters. Thank you for the help and answering my questions!

Another major question that I cant find a clear answer on.:
What is the difference between a tribe and a community? I heard rumblings that devs were removing tribes and just calling them communities.
I understood that a tribe has a hive-engine token and a community doesnt.If they get rid of tribes and switch to just communities will that require a community to have it's own token?
Can a community have points similar to Ecency?

My communities are all supported by ARCHON. You must have 500 Archon tokens and then every comment on a post within the community receives a portion of staked ARCHON to encourage Engagement. Tribes often have their own tokens and sometime their own frontends and I think are pretty expensive to create. Some communities have tokens, I have been happy using and giving away POINTS!

This is really awesome

Wow this is a well detail process or creating a community and guild on how to grow it and get more people join and engage with your community, thanks so much for sharing this Masterpiece, guess I'll reblogged this such in case I decided to create a community in the nearest future.

Have a productive day.

Thanks! Anytime you decide to you can always ask for help if you need it!

Noted, I'll surely stop by, thanks once again.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 90 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Thanks Pix!
!PIZZA
!LUV
!LOLZ

Did you hear about the Irish guy who was assassinated at the antique store?
It was a knick knack paddy whack.

Credit: playbyhive
@pixresteemer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @melinda010100
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@harlowjourney(1/5) tipped @melinda010100 (x1)
melinda010100 tipped pixresteemer (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I am sure your post will be very useful for many people !LUV

I hope it helps someone!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Exciting! Thank you for describing the process!

!PIZZA

Nice explanation, thanks for sharing!