AROUND THE CENTER OF MEDULIN, MY HOMETOWN

in Inner Blocks2 years ago

17th October in 2021 was a nice, partially sunny day in my hometown. I don't know when I woke up, but according to the information stored in the following JPEG files, I left the house at 10:12 AM. Let's assume that I wasn't sleeping anymore from 9 AM on.

img_0521_malo.jpg

The street sweeper machine was passing by as I was opening the gate that separates my yard from the rest of the world. I was directed to the tobacco shop near the main square, less than a hundred meters from where I live.

img_0272_malo.jpg

When I arrived ...

img_4700_malo.jpg

... a bunch of friends and neighbors was there.

(Enlargeable)

Since the most popular cafe bar in the old center was closed for COVID - 19 and then never reopened for who knows what reason, this place has become the morning meeting place for many locals.

img_4719_malo.jpg

In the most dramatic months of the COVID situation when all bars had to close, the tobacco shop introduced coffee to go.

(Enlargeable)

That was a smash hit. I mean, only locally, but still, a great hit.

(Enlargeable)

The saleslady became a waitress as well ...

img_4718_malo.jpg

... the wall behind the small church became an outdoor bar ...

(Enlargeable)

... and this part of town started looking more alive than before when people drank their coffee and stuff inside the normal cafe.

(Enlargeable)

I don't know who is providing the ashtrays ...

(Enlargeable)

... but you can always find them ...

(Enlargeable)

... on the nearby wall or on the garbage cans near the shop's entrance.

(Enlargeable)

I left the outdoor bar in the middle of an animated discussion about something that may or may not be important, can't tell you because the memory faded, and I continued ...

img_0271_malo.jpg

... my walk around the neighborhood.

img_5904_malo.jpg

Many plants were still in bloom. Here you can see the Mesembryanthemum cordifolium, a succulent creeping plant that grows in many places around my hometown because it looks good and doesn't require much attention to thrive in this climate.

img_5905_malo.jpg

A grape cluster has fallen from the vine above the succulents.

img_5906_malo.jpg

These are the flowers of the Hibiscus syriacus.

img_5907_malo.jpg

This is also a creeping plant that climbs the walls in the area around the tobacco shop.

img_5903_malo.jpg

A page has left the book and flown away in search of new experiences. After many adventures, a fragment of some story, or a novel, ended up on the asphalt of the narrow street behind the square. The thing was written by certain Michael Korda. I wasn't aware of this writer's existence before examining the details of this photograph and doing a bit of research on the Internet.

img_9245_malo.jpg

About a hundred meters further ...

img_9249_malo.jpg

... there was a vine with lovely red leaves.

img_9243_malo.jpg

This plant was climbing the facade of an abandoned house. Most leaves had already fallen ...

img_9248_malo.jpg

... but there was enough color to decorate one of the windows.

img_9251_malo.jpg

A cluster of red leaves was mixed with the green foliage of the Passiflora plant.

img_9253_malo.jpg

Parthenocissus inserta is the name of the creeper that gets the red leaves pretty early in autumn. After taking these shots in front of the abandoned house not far from the town's main square ...

img_2902_malo.jpg

... I continued to the grocery store. I took some shots in that area as well, but that's another story. This one ends here. As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

Sort:  

Glad the tobacco shop came to the rescue after Covid made your town boring.

True 😃 Nobody expected that from a modest tobacco shop.

Lol, the owner of the tobacco shop is indeed an entrepreneur, to have thought of that 😂

How is the situation in Croatia now? In my Czech homeland, most of the restrictions are being (finally!) lifted...

Here as well. Not many restrictions. And those restrictions that are still here, don't make much sense. The daily numbers of hospitalized people are high, but outside the situation is pretty relaxed.

Thanks for the update :) Hopefully, the restrictions will be lifted everywhere soon, I cannot wait to start traveling again. Have a nice weekend!

🙂 good weekend to you too.

That is nice that, when the bar closed, the tobacco shop became the meeting ground for locals. It is important to have something like that. Especially in the times of the pandemic.

The red leaves from the vine, even though there are not that much, is still beautiful. It frames the window. 😊😎

🙂 Yes the decaying window on the decaying house looks kind of stylish with those red leaves around.

Yes it does @borjan 😊

Lovely, I think we are maybe neighbours as I live in Penamacor :) nice to meet you

The virus has been affecting for too long, and maintaining the economy has become an inevitable choice for governments. I hope it can be passed as soon as possible.
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

Why do ghosts like to hang out in bars?
They enjoy the boos.

Credit: reddit
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @brianhuang
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (5/6)

That's true, the show must go on.

Was the flower stuck to the wall intentionally planted? it looks very interesting

Yes, I think that was intentionally planted.

I've never seen this in my garden. maybe it was planted on purpose.

Always the best place to be ... hometown.

Are the shops where you live still closed until now? the impact of COVID is almost the same in every country, and I also feel it, hopefully it will end soon, those red vine flowers look beautiful creeping on the wall, you shot it well.

Here the impact of the virus is even bigger than before, but the policy has changed. It seems that keeping the economy alive has become the priority.

Hopefully the government policy in your place is good for all.

It looks so good, I was impressed by the picture of flowers creeping on the wall. I think it's really cool

Thank you 🙂 Glad you like the post.

You're welcome 😊

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@brianhuang(5/5) tipped @borjan (x1)

Join us in Discord!