TWO DAYS IN THE WINTER OF 2015

in Inner Blocks11 months ago (edited)

In today's post, I'm gonna show you some ordinary everyday stuff I photographed on two occasions in the winter of 2015. Have a good viewing.

(Enlargeable)

About half of the shots, the opening picture included, were taken on the 25th of January.

The other half, represented by this photograph, shows the stuff I noticed and found fairly interesting on the 29th of February.

(Enlargeable)

The material from the 25th of January is dominated by selfies.

I took quite a few winter self-portraits via my bathroom mirror and you'll see most of them today. The main difference from selfie to selfie is in the things I was putting on the top of my head. I have a hood and a pretty elegant black hat in this shot. In the following photograph ...

... I put some thick, warm cap atop the hood. Despite being at the peak of the winter, the weather was still too warm for this type of cap. I took a selfie and then immediately returned the thing back in the closet.

Thanks to my ears, I was able to mount some kind of necklace on the head for this shot.

Here I used the collar of an ancient coat to create an illusion of dense long hair I don't have in reality. My natural hair, or more like the lack of it, can be seen in the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... along with a well-made small knitted purse that was hanging from my ears.
I have a few more selfies to show, but right now ...

... I would like to show you something different. In this evening shot, you can take a look at the road that leads from Medulin, my hometown to Liznjan, the nearest village, and vice versa. You can also see the iconic silhouette of St. Agnes, the biggest church in Medulin.

Later that night, I drove about ten kilometers to Pula, the nearest city. I had a drink or two in some bars and I spent some time in the former military barracks building turned into a community center with various art & music organizations, a place where concerts and exhibitions are happening more or less every weekend. After a concert or an exhibition, can't remember what exactly it was on that specific occasion, I visited the headquarters of some artsy punk rock-oriented club. Something like that. I mean, that's how I would define it. Among some cool stuff there, I also noticed some uncool silly stuff too. In the above photograph, you can see a little brochure about " How to play hardcore". It was written in such an anti-punk rock tone. It looked like something that a Catholic church or Communist party would write for its youth. I thought at first that the thing is some kind of joke or part of an ironic art concept. But nope. Since I lost touch with subcultures and youth stuff in those years, I forgot how unironic and preachy most freedom-proclaiming countercultures got in the new millennium.

(Enlargeable)

This portrait was taken some hours later in my living room.

A friend was posing with a little makeshift mask made of scissors.

In this photograph, you can see me in the fields of Marlera, the coastal area a couple of kilometers from the village of Liznjan.

(Enlargeable)

A big plow made for big modern tractors was laying on the lawn near the recently plowed field. The thing looked like some kind of mysterious machine from a certain angle ...

... so I sat on that plow and pretended to use it like the time machine described by H. G. Wells.

I walked barefoot for some time and in this shot, you can see me putting my shoes back on.

(Enlargeable)

Recreational cyclists were passing me by.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see some kind of foil used to protect the young cultivated plants in the plowed fields. Some of that old decaying foil that has seen better days ended up in the middle of the unpaved road bordered by fields and meadows.

This is me again. In yet another bathroom mirror selfie.

For this self-portrait, I used the considerably bigger mirror in the entrance hall.

I was in the bathroom again when this photograph was taken.

(Enlargeable)

In this tryptich, I'm posing with an interesting little globe.

(Enlargeable)

These two shots were taken in my kitchen on the 29th of February 2015. I was preparing the scrambled eggs with wild asparagus shoots and one of my dogs, the one called Pancho, was resting on the kitchen floor.

(Enlargeable)

I was regularly picking the asparagus shoots in those days. Here you can see what I collected in the area a couple of kilometers from the village of Premantura.

This thing was photographed in Marlera.

(Enlargeable)

There was a plan to build a golf course and some other tourism-related stuff
in the place and around some abandoned buildings, so the sign appeared stating that the area is a construction site ...

... but the project didn't last long.

The local politics have changed, and upon further inspection, the new mayor find out that the paperwork was obtained in a completely illegal way, some heavy bribing was involved, and the golf course project was just a cover for a plan to build some large hotels, so the thing was soon aborted.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see a big black fly resting on the obsolete board that signals the safety rules on the nonexistent construction site.

Here you can see me sleeping on the couch. I mean, I'm just pretending to sleep for this shot.

(Enlargeable)

In his set of four photographs, I'm pretending to sleep on the floor of my room.

I also took some selfies in the bathroom mirror that day.

I wasn't pretending to be awakened in these shots.

I used some light summer shirts ...

... and bras ...

... in a new ...

... and slightly absurd way.

Here you can see me having fun with more mirrors.

This is an outdoor shot from Marlera.

This cat was photographed somewhere in my neighborhood.

Here you can see me posing with the Norwegian forest cat called Pepitza. The photograph was taken in the house of a friend that lives in the city.

I spent some time at the bus terminal of Pula that night. This photograph was taken there.

Here you can see me and two of my dogs in the front yard of my house.

This photograph was taken along the seashore, near Liznjan's harbor.

Here you can see the asparagus shoots I collected in the archeological park Vizula, near the harbor of Medulin.

This and the following shot ...

were taken in my living room.

AND THAT'S IT. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

Sort:  
 11 months ago  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 48000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 49000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2023

I want to admit that, you are the awkward photographer I have ever seen, But still creativity remains in your work and that is why we love you for that.

Is that bra which you turned into an eye pad?

Some very strange selfies, but kinda amusing in different ways! !LOL

Nice shots. I also have the same pet cat like you show in your photographs.

very exciting activities to do on holidays

You look more handsome when you wear a jacket and hat

I liked your photography as always, seems interesting and creative photos you have been captured. 😎

Your pictures are still looking so recent

Not a good article. Have a nice day.

It seems that you have a great day .
Looking at the asparagus makes me want to taste it. I never tasted it before but I always see some post about it.🤗

@borjan You are funny, bro! Your photographs are amazing.Great adventure.