"The first word I'm going to teach my future child is the word, 'No'"

in Inner Blocks11 months ago

IMG_20230412_133638_479.jpg

"The first word I'm going to teach my future child is the word, 'No'"

What did the naïve 17-year old college sophomore me know about child-rearing in the first place?

I forgot the details of most of our conversation that day, but I could never forget the look on this semi-chinese guy's face. He was 5 years my senior, and had been carrying my TC7 textbook all the way from my calculus class, until our feet got sore from all the walking.

The Cebu city sun can be quite gruelling especially in the Talamban area at mid-day. We agreed that he'd treat me to lunch once I completed the club's training and became a member. Eventually the summer sun proved too strong from the likes of mere mortals like us, and we yielded, choosing the nearest café with the most reliable air-conditioning. I almost felt bad because it seemed like a place only the bourgeoisie could afford.

It may have been the Asian-ness eyes, his gelled jet-black hair, or his countenance that gave a slight air of arrogance, but for sure, there was discomfort on his end of the table. His hair gel was already dripping from all the sweat of his pale skin.

"Are you sure you don't want to just split it?"

He said it was fine.

It was not fine but then again, I forgot how most people in that university weren't living as ultra-frugally as I was.

But he did mention that he lived a "princessy" life, so I guess the allowance that came with the lunch treat came from his "princessy" funds.

We talked until next period started. Rather, I was the one doing all the talking with such peculiar enthusiasm, and he stared and listened most of the time.

Mind-reading could have been a useful talent. Too bad I'm neither a character from a comic book, and neither was it a prologue of a successful love story.

I couldn't finish the rest of the gigantic club sandwiches he bought for me, so we had it taken out, and gave it to the new friends I made in the club I applied for.

I forgot what we talked about the rest of the way. But I remembered he umbrella-d me and carried the same heavy textbook under the heat of the sun. We could have been talking about calculus, physics, ChE, or whether or not I'd survive the program in one piece 😂, as such was the trending hot topic at that time for most of my lot.

Little did I know that meeting this person on one sunny day in Cebu city would open up to one of the most meaningful obstacle courses life had prepared for me, and led me to who I am today.

Grateful for that guy.
I hope he's doing well.
I hope he knows he is loved.


ABOUT THE PROTEAN CREATOR

IMG_20230501_105939.jpg

Roxanne Marie is a twenty-year-old something who calls herself the Protean Creator.

She is a chemical engineer by profession, pole-dancer and blogger by passion and frustration, and lastly, a life enthusiast. She loves open discourse, witty musings, discussions about abstract and tangible ideas, and any opportunity where she can insert memes into the conversation.

She is on a mission to rediscover her truth through the messy iterative process of learning, relearning and unlearning, and openly discusses the ideas and thoughts that are born from her experiences here on Hive.

Currently, she works as a science and research instructor for senior high school students and as a freelancing content writer in her hometown, Tagbilaran City, all the while documenting her misadventures, misfortunes, pagka-hugotera, reflections and shenanigans as a working-class millennial.

If you like her content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. It would be an honor to have this post reblogged as well. Also, don't forget to follow her to be updated with her latest posts, and catch her next intellectual (and most of the time, untethered) rants.

Sort:  

personally, i believe that... whether intentionally or not, the indoctrination that we, as babies, receive, almost from the very beginning of our lifetime experience, hearing the word: “NO” so often and being taught that it means we can NOT be, do, and/or have something, is the greatest error our parents (i.e. mother and father) and community (e.g. that “village” which is assisting in the rearing of said child) could have ever done to/for our development, into the powerful creative beings we are, who can, ultimately, be, do, and/or have anything we so desire! 💥

I do believe so too! I believe the word no has more meaning to it than just mere defiance.

😊🌈🤙 good story.. but this semi-chinese hiver is wondering what 'obstacle course' are u talking bout?

how's pole these days? how strong are u now.. since last i saw those guns of urs? :P

Hhahahahahahaha i haven't been poleing in a long while. It's a long story 🥲 but I still go to gym and still get exercise. I gained weight too but still do my best to be fit. 💛🌻 Will let you know how this month goes muna 🤍 but thank u for asking!