You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PUNCTUATED BY POPPIES

in Inner Blocks3 years ago
My mother had exhibited a few signs of oncoming age-related dementia, but it wasn't debilitating. Then, some health issues lead to the discovery of a tumor in her colon. She came through the surgery with flying colors. However, when she awoke from the anesthesia, she was a completely different person. Apparently, the anesthesia had triggered Alzheimer's and it remained with her the rest of her life. My father and I cared for her at their home as long as we could, but after a year it became apparent that we could not provide the level of care she needed, even with Home Health assistance. So, she had to be placed in a Skilled Nursing Facility three miles away. I drove my father there to visit her every single day until his health deteriorated and daily visits were no longer possible. We visited every chance we could, and we were there with her when she passed. My father managed to hang-on for a little over a year before he passed, too. So, yeah, I am very familiar with dementia, Alzheimer's, and elder-care in general. That is how I can empathize as well as sympathize. I wish you the best in the coming time and hope that the conversations you have with her will bring both of you comfort and many blessings. 💕
Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your personal story of what you've had to go through. Frankly, it does get to be to a point with this kind of illness where it progresses to such a point the loved one needs to be in a place where they can have the medical care necessary.

It's interesting how there was an immediate change for your mother after the surgery and anesthesia. It reminds me of what my father went through.

Thank you for taking the time to leave me such supportive comments and sharing your personal story. Thank you also for your kind wishes. I know it matters very much to my mother, these phone calls, so I really don't care how difficult it is for me. No one in our family, nor any family friends are calling her like this. No one is going to visit her either. Both of those things bother me, but are beyond my control and have only incentivized me further to rise to the occasion and make that effort.💕

Hello @thekittygirl. The same happened with my parents. 18 months after my mom's passing, he passed away. He had no desire to go on without her after 50 years together.

I never experienced either of them in truly debilitating states. They were gone suddenly from massive heart failure. Don't know if that's a good thing.

Thanks for sharing.