You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HODL 1st Contest ! More than 40 USD in prizes šŸŽ

in HODL ā€¢ 4 years ago

Hi, I'm @achim03 from Switzerland

I'm kind of an old dog in the crypto world. My first contact with Crypto currencies was in 2014. At that time Bitcoin was traded for 200 USD.

I was dealing before with a german based virtual currency called Klammlose. I found the concept inspiring but unfortunately the founders of these Klammlose produced a huge inflation. One day per chance I found an ad for a btc faucet. It was love on first sight. These faucets were giving away crypto for free! I loved the fact that I had only to enter a wallet address to get these coins. Nothing similar was available anywhere else and I immediately saw the potential of cryptos.

At the time when I claimed from a faucet I recieved around 2000 satoshis ;-). I learned and built my own crypto faucets. I have distributed around 4 BTC to users from all over the world with my faucets.

Sort: Ā 

Hello @achim03, nice to have a Swiss there šŸ˜ƒ,

Wow, you are a true Bitcoin OG ! Very nice story with ups and down !

Did you keep some of these BTC šŸ˜„ ?

Best,

@vlemon

Did you keep some of these BTC šŸ˜„ ?

I managed to keep some for myself and part of it is still in btc, another part in Steem, Hive and also in Steemmonsters cards ;-)

Nice job !

Wow that's awesome!

And how has the faucet business worked out for you? Is it easy to create one? How do you keep it profitable?

Hi @chekohler,

Since I was among the first ones providing faucets, it was quite lucrative because at the time, I even had Google adsense to finance my faucets. One day all faucet owners got kicked out and since then it became more and more difficult to break even. In the last two years, many users have turned to bots to claim from faucets which makes it almost impossible to cover the costs.

The business concept is quite simple. You offer a small amount in coins to the users and you put ads and links on your website. If you calculate well, you will earn more from the clicks and views of these ads than you pay to the users. But this doesn't work with automated claims from bots because they don't click anything ;-). I more or less gave up this business because it was a tiresome fight banning IP's and putting in many safeguards so that bots couldn't empty your balance over night.

Interesting story. Iā€™m also in CH.

Nice to meet some other swiss here ;-)

Congratulation @achim03

Seriously great comment. Thanks for participating in this contest organized by @hodlcommunity and supported by @project.hope.

I was supposed to upvote your post with 150k HP, however I've been late (for which I'm sorry) and this comment is already 7 days old.

Instead, I will upvote your latest post with solid upvote + I will trigger our curation trail.

If you like to join similar contests more often, then join Project.Hope discord (https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW) and look for "ph-contests" group. That's our channel, where our members are sharring links to their latest contests (sponsored by project.hope).

Enjoy your weekend,
Piotr